Back to Normal: Culinary Smackdown – My Salad Days

I know tomorrow is the official deadline for the Smackdown, but I’m putting my host post up a day early just because.  I had also planned something different for my salad, but life intervened.  I made this dish a few days ago and got to share it with the friends who came over and helped with Peaches.  They loved it, not a bit left over, which was also wonderful.  I worked with a few ingredients that are fairly new to me–jicama and fennel–and concocted the dressing myself after reading a bunch of recipes online.  I actually managed to write it down so yay for me.  So, here’s my take on salad for this month:  Grumpy’s Fennel, Jicama, Radish, Napa and Apple Salad/Slaw.  Ingredients are simple:

I also added radishes from the garden:

Then I sliced up the fennel (save some of the fronds for later), chopped the green onions, cut up half of the jicama and shredded half of a Napa cabbage I already had in the fridge.  Throw everything in a bowl and mix it well:

Now it’s ready for the dressing.  This is what I made:

1 Tbl rice wine vinegar
1 Tbl cider vinegar
1 Tbl Ponzu (my new favorite thing!)
2 Tbl fresh lime juice
1 Tbl brown sugar
1 package of Truvia (stevia sweetener or use another Tbl of sugar, depending on your like of tart/sweet)
Enough olive oil to make an emulsion
1 heaping Tbl mayonnaise
Chopped fennel fronds

Mix the first six ingredients in a bowl.  Using a whisk to stir, drizzle enough olive oil to make an emulsion, maybe 1/4 to 1/3 cup.  Once well mixed, add the mayo and whisk until completely dissolved and then add the fennel fronds.

Then, pour enough dressing over the veggies to coat but not drown (always my problem).  This time, I managed to get it just right.

I had enough dressing left over to use as a dipping sauce for the extra jicama.  I don’t know much about jicama other than it’s nearly impossible to find one that’s smaller than your head.  I used about half of the one shown above.  Fortunately, it makes a great sweet, crunchy snack and it doesn’t oxidize like sliced apples or other kinds of fruit.  Yummy.

I hope you all have had fun with this challenge, finding great ingredients to combine into delicious, enticing salads.  Leave your comments here and links to your posts.  I can’t wait to see everything!

5 thoughts on “Back to Normal: Culinary Smackdown – My Salad Days

  1. I didn’t realize that it doesn’t oxidize like apples – it might be a good treat to munch on like carrots in your take to work lunch.

Leave a Reply

