Unexpected Bliss

Happy Day After Valentine’s! Been a while since I wrote, too busy being grumpy, I guess ;-). Seriously, working part time at home, taking care of a rambunctious 4 year old and TRYING to get in some quality time with my wife does just about take up every minute of the day. Not to mention when the little one gets pneumonia, and older brother has to spend the night here, well there goes the “quality time” anyway.

Which brings me to the topic of today’s ramble…I was IM’ing my daughter at work (can do this on her cell phone from my computer, really makes communication easy) and she mentioned that she was going to get off at 10:30 and would pick up the grandson shortly thereafter! Plus, my wife has a quilting class today, and wanted to go early to get some more fabric cut, etc. So, lo and behold, it’s 11:00 a.m. and I AM IN THE HOUSE ALL BY MYSELF!!!!!!!!!!!!! ALONE!!!!!!! Well, except for the dog, but she doesn’t ask for much, and is usually very quiet.

I can hardly comprehend this wealth. I have the house to myself. I can take a bath, do yoga, read a book, watch a movie, take a walk, meditate, cook something I’ve been wanting to mess with for a while (there’s always a recipe in the back of my head)….anything! There are so many choices that I for a moment I couldn’t even make a choice. I was almost paralyzed. So, first thing, I checked my e-mail to make sure that I didn’t have any “real” work to do, as I do medical transcription out of my house. Nothing at the moment. Then I decided to come here and write about the joy of having time. Time alone. Time unstructured and unencumbered, even for a couple of hours.

See, the hardest part of this work at home, grandkid babysitting stuff is that I don’t have any “down time”. I used to use the early morning as mine, since G. doesn’t get up till later, and I love the predawn hours. Now, I’m getting up earlier, but either using the time to work on stuff from the day before, or awaiting the kids. My daughter works from 6:30 – 3:00, which is nice later in the day, since we don’t have the kids till 5pm, but I just miss my quiet early mornings, sitting on the couch and watching the daylight slowly come into the house.

I could also do some spiritual work. I’m studying shamanism with a wonderful teacher,and a lot of the work is “mind work” things you have to THINK about. How to you THINK when you are refereeing a 6 and a 4 year old? I ask you? How do you monitor your chakras when you are trying to get homework done and baths given and clothes sorted to the laundry in the basement? How do you call on your archetypes to help you when you haven’t even had much of a chance to become aquainted with your archetypes (serpent, jaguar, hummingbird, eagle/condor, Huascar, Quetzlcoatal, Pachacooti for those who might be interested!) I’ve got seven entities running around inside me that I’m supposed to be getting to know, because they can help me with my life, but it’s like I have wonderful houseguests I’m ignoring in order to answer the phone in front of them. How RUDE!

I could also listen to my new Abraham CD that G. got me for Christmas, but it’s in the car and she has the car, so oh, well. But that’s a minor thing. There’s so much more I can choose from. But, at last I’ve made a decision. I’m going to check one more time for some work, and if there isn’t anything right now, I’m going to go take a shower and change clothes. I do think much better when I’m clean.

Signing off with bliss,

GG

Leave a Reply

