Teeth

Yesterday, while I was waiting for my Spanish teacher to come for my lesson, I broke off part of one of my teeth. It’s a tooth that I had already lost part of a while back, and have been putting off getting fixed. You see, I absolutely HATE going to the dentist!!! Hate it, hate it, hate it! I spent the better part of my adolescent years either in the dentist’s or the orthodontist’s chairs having major work done on my mouth and once that ordeal was over, I never ever wanted to go back into a dentist’s office!

Now, I have a great dentist. He’s gentle, bilingual and works on metally handicapped folks, so he’s got to be good. But…I just HATE going. I can’t figure it out. Luckily, I have very healthy teeth, and I don’t build up tartar. In fact, I usually go YEARS between official cleanings and the dentists says it looks like 6 months. Plus, I floss a lot. But now….well, I have to go. Gotta get this tooth fixed, and luckily, it’s completely painless.

And, I will say this: Given what I have learned about oral/tooth health and how it connects to over all physical well being, I think the greatest gift that my parents ever gave me as far as my future health goes was getting me to an orthodontist, having all my extra teeth yanked and getting my teeth and bit straightened out. I saw how my mom suffered later in her life from a bad bite–cracked teeth, crowns, gum disease, etc. And she took good care of her teeth…just the bite being off put a lot of extra stress there, and there wasn’t anything she could do about it by then other than try to fix the damage.

So, anyway, that’s my tooth rant for the day. Off to see if I can get my sweetie up, and maybe go to breakfast with her!!

GG

Leave a Reply

