Slow Saturday

One of THOSE nights. Read in the living room, ’cause I didn’t want to go to bed too early. Got feeling sleepy, so went and got in bed. This was a little after 9 pm. Moving around woke me up a bit, so I read some more, then fell asleep. Popped awake around 1:30 a.m. and it was all over. I was really annoyed. So, I got up, came down here, finished the little work I had left over and sent it back. By then it was 3:30 (ok, I read e-mail and did the ‘net thing for a while), and I was FINALLY really sleepy. Back upstairs to bed. Then it took me a while to drop off because I was COLD…I mean FREEZING. Finally, I got warm and dropped off. And of course, the phone rang at 8 a.m. Ugh. I didn’t answer it. (It was the D.)
*
Now, it’s just after 10 am, had a couple of cups of coffee, finished doing the lables for daughter’s wedding invites, and need to work on cleaning up my office, it’s an explosion of papers of various types and importance. But I feel totally unmotivated. That is, mentally, I want to do it, but physically, well, to get my lazy body to do any of that, would be like rolling a beached whale up a sand hill. You get the idea.
*
Also, I’m supposed to stain the top of our porch today. I promised G. I would do it…and I WILL do it, because I don’t want her climbing up the ladder. The top of the porch is a pergola–not solid roof–so it’s up and down, up and down, which absolutely kills her knees and legs. Hey! Here’s a photo of the porch!

So, you can see that staining the top will be quite labor intensive. G. has already done the railing around the floor–easier, since you can pretty much do the whole thing standing on the ground. We will do the floor last. Anyway, it’s kind of chilly out this morning, which is the main reason I don’t want to be out there on a ladder. We’ll see how both the weather and I progress.
*
And that’s about all the inspiration I can muster for today. There’s lots of things I want to blog about–taxes, work, looking for work, “safety”, coconut cream pie, grocery shopping, yard work, tomatoes, friends, everything from soup to nuts, but…not now. Now, I think I need to get horizontal again, or at least in a reclining position.
*
Later,
GG
One thought on “Slow Saturday

  1. mmm, I’d like to hear about the coconut cream pie. Nice to meet you too Grumpy Granny. You’re the first Coloradoan I’ve met in blogsville. Too cool. 🙂

    I like your porch. We’re building too.

Leave a Reply

