Just ‘Cause

This has been on so many other blogs, so I thought, why not? If you want to know more go here.
*
1. How long have you been together?
Going on 6 wonderful years!
2. Who pursued who?
We met in a group setting and hung out that way for a while. I took the initiative to see her alone, but after that, I think it was her.
3. Do you wear any type of wedding/commitment ring?
We exchanged rings that we got from here because G. is a woodworker. Unfortunately, we think my youngest grandson made off with hers a while back–he was absolutely fascinated by her ring, and kept “handling” it on her desk where she kept it, then one day it was gone.
He was too young to remember. I wear mine on my wedding ring finger when we go out. I’m not much of a jewellry person most of the time.
4. What was the hardest thing about learning to live together?
It’s actually been easier living with G. than with just about anyone I’ve ever lived with, but for me, it was living with someone who is driven to clean. I mean DRIVEN.
5. Who takes longer to get ready in the morning?
We’re both pretty quick. Neither one of us wears make-up or anything. I just have to doctor up my wonky skin. However, I’m usually out of the bathroom and done before she wakes up.
6. Do you usually eat breakfast together?
We pretty much have coffee together every morning. Working from home rocks!!
7. Do you ever share clothes?
Oh, no, I am WAY bigger and taller than she is. Sometimes we can wear the same shoes, though.
8. Who does most of the cooking?
I do. I love to cook, and it is a break from the work routine, very relaxing for me.
9. Who usually takes out the trash?
I would say it’s pretty equal for taking it out of the house and into the can outside. She usually rolls it to the gate for pickup more often because she’s working in the yard more often.
10. If you have pets who usually does litter box or poop patrol?
She does. It’s her dog.
11. Which one of you is more likely to answer the phone when it rings?
She does. After spending most of my life working via the telephone, I check caller ID and let it ring on.
12. Who’s in charge of the remote if you’re watching TV together?
We don’t have cable, so we pretty much know what’s going to be on and don’t surf all that much. When we watch a movie, it’s’ me, ’cause I know how to work all the controls faster.
13. Who usually drives when you go out together?
Me. G’s disability makes driving for very long too uncomfortable. Plus I like to drive and I’m better at it (she’s very nervous anymore).
14. Which one of you takes care of spiders and bugs that get into the house?
Either of us. We usually let spiders be and tell them they have to stay out of sight and not scare the grandkids. If they don’t, we catch them and put them in the garden. We have found (and killed) 1 black widow spider in the house.
15. Facing the bed, who sleeps on which side?
Standing at the foot, she is on the left and I am on the right. She usually ends up over on my side after I get up in the morning.
16. Who usually checks the (postal) mailbox?
I LOVE getting the mail, but she usually gets it because I’m downstairs working when it comes. Oh, well.
17. If something breaks or goes wrong in the house, which one of you is more likely to either fix it or call someone to fix it?
She is DEFINITELY the more handy of us, and can pretty much fix anything, although she won’t mess too much with plumbing if it’s very complex (thank you!). I have no problem dialing the phone…LOL!
18. Who is generally the neater of you?
G., by FAR. Although, in her zeal to clean, she ends up putting things away and forgets where, and when I go back to where I KNOW I put them, they’re gone, and a long search ensues. This happened this very morning in fact.
19. Who handles the checkbook/pays the bills?
We have one joint account that is used for nothing but household expenses, mortgage, etc. We both put the same amount of money in it each month, and except for the trash bill, all the payments are taken out automatically or we make them online. We each handle our own individual bills. This pretty much eliminates any arguments about money.
20. What was your last fight/disagreement about?
I can honestly say that we have never had a “fight”. We have discussions about things that might be annoying us here and there, but quite honestly, I can’t remember when the last one was. We make conscious decisions not to sweat the small stuff in the relationship. It’s not worth the energy.
21. When you slow dance together, who leads?
I do, I’m taller, and I’m a better dancer. Again, it’s pretty painful for her to dance for more than 1 or 2 songs.
22. What do you love the most about your other half?
That’s so hard to narrow down, but I would have to say it would be her immense and gentle nature. She’s the most wonderful example I know of someone who’s had really rotten and nasty stuff happen in her life, and yet, she is the kindest, most compassionate person I know. She’s my shining example every day!
*
GG

3 thoughts on “Just ‘Cause

Leave a Reply

