There is a Moment

Tomorrow, I start my new job. At 7:30 a.m., I will be getting a call from someone in the IT department to help me install the software (not done yet) and foot pedal (already done) that they sent me, and then I’ll be on my way. I’m a little nervous, but I’ll get over it.

Today, G. and I went grocery shopping at WalMart. Yes, I shop at WalMart, shoot me. I like WalMart. I like that they offer jobs here in my rather small town. I like that things are cheaper, and I also like that they are beginning to offer “eco-friendly” products, Sam’s Club Fair Trade Coffee, hormone/antibiotic free chicken, growth-hormone free milk, etc. So, I shop there.

But. That’s not what this post is about. Today, spring promised, really promised, to come to Colorado. We’ve been teased with sunshine, and a few mild days, only to be dipped down into winter again, and yet again. But, today, the weather gods are smiling. The sun is out, and the temps are mild. We decided to go to the WalMart out in PuebloWest, and drive through the Pueblo Reservoir park, which is a much nicer way to get into Pueblo West than on the highway. The reservoir, after being frighteningly low for the past 10 years or so, is now actually as full as it looks on that picture. As we drove into the park, we saw an eagle flying around with a hawk trailing it. We were listening to a new CD, and the wind was in the car.

I was driving, holding my woman’s hand, and it suddenly turned into one of those moments where just for an infinitesimal and infinite moment, all the cares of the world fall away, and you are completely steeped in and surrounded by love. G’s love for me, mine for her, the love of the Universe for us and for everything around us, the huge, unspeakable power of the LOVE that created everything that exists right now, the absolute and incredible balance that holds everything together, despite our desperate attempts to upset it with war, and strife, and poverty, and pollution and all those negative things that we worry about so much. We can’t do it. That’s the bottom line. We cannot win against love. We make up stuff like the Devil and Hell and war, and all those scary things because for some reason, we just can’t accept that LOVE is out there and it’s real and powerful and holds everything together.

But it is there. It is real. And when we are lucky, every so often, there is a moment when we know it, we feel it, deep in our bones, in the spiraling DNA of our cells, we recognize where we come from, and how connected we are to each other and to everything else that exists in all creation.

Guess what? Today was my moment!

Here’s to more moments!

GG
2 thoughts on “There is a Moment

  1. First off — LOVE the new colors on your blog! πŸ™‚

    Second — this was SO beautiful!

    πŸ™‚

    p.s. I love Walmart — I think it sucks that we have to qualify that. In fact, we were there this weekend and on the way out there was this older gentlemen taking names and asking people if they knew someone that was in need of help because walmart wanted to help them.

    So there ya go. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

