What I Did Today…

At our house, right now, life is a bowl of….


STRAWBERRIES! The strawberries are coming in, and we picked those yesterday afternoon from the small patch (maybe 2 feet x 5 feet) in the yard. There are a ton more just waiting to get ripe. Blue corn/pinon pancakes with strawberry compote sounds good, doesn’t it??

Today, I took some apples that were headed down hill, and I made this:

Apple-Walnut cake with a sugar/apple glaze. It was pretty damn good if I say so myself. I don’t make cakes too much, but for some reason apple cake just sounded great today.

I have no idea what’s going to be for dinner….

GG

7 thoughts on “What I Did Today…

  1. I think I gained a pound from just looking at that apple walnut cake!

    I ADORE strawberries! We were out on a drive yesterday and saw a couple of signs for upcoming town strawberry dinners. We can’t imagine what they’ll serve other than strawberries, but it sure sounds intriguing.

  2. Everybody’s invited over for apple-walnut cake and strawberries on the porch!

    Y’all come on, now, ya heah?

    GG

  3. Looks delicious! There are few things more enjoyable then making a meal out of things you have grown yourself.

    enjoy-
    janet

  4. How cool. We put in a strawberry patch last year. Course the beagle thought it was a great place to cool her belly in. Our first harvest is happening now though and we are bringing in maybe 5 or 6 a day. Not much but there are a lot more ripening. Love Love Love Strawberries!

  5. I agree with Syd… it would be strawberries and apple cake for dinner! I had a small patch of strawberries, but could never get to them before the birds and squirrels…

Leave a Reply

