It’s a New Week

Happy Tuesday, Everyone!

I think I’m getting the hang of this Tuesday – Saturday work thing. Working on Saturday is kind of a bummer for doing event type stuff, but since I’m not much of an event-goer, it doesn’t really matter.

I’m rambling. Yesterday, we took GS2 to see “Kung Fu Panda” for his birthday (which is Friday). He is usually the more “serious” of the 2 boys, but yesterday, he was just a little chatterbox. Had all KINDS of things to say. He really enjoyed the movie, laughed out loud several times and enjoyed his popcorn, soda, and candy that we got him. We took him back to the daycare wired!

Sunday, we went on a spur-of-the moment fishing trip to San Isabel and met our friends M&J there. M&G are the fisherwomen; J and I sat on the bank in the shade, watched the other 2 out in their float tubes, and talked books and movies. Then, G let J try out her float tube. I think the float tube itself would be great, but I’m not all that hung up on fishing. I can fish, did my share when I lived in the south, and I can even gut and clean and cook them when I have to (including catfish, which are a whole OTHER story). But, I just don’t get that much of a thrill out of it anymore. Lake Isabel is nice because no motorized boats are allowed, so you don’t feel like you’re going to get killed being out there in a glorified inner tube. Afterward, we had a late lunch at the restaurant there, then G & I took the scenic route home. Nice drive through the mountains.

The cell phone service is cancelled. Of course, they wouldn’t just let me PAY the damn final bill now, no they have to BILL me. Whatever. And of course, everyone was just completely INCREDULOUS that I would want to CANCEL my cell phone service. Yeah, well, whatev. I don’t NEED to be “connected” with every breath I take. Hey, I’m not Grumpy Granny for nothing.

I called the chief judge’s office today to see if he performed weddings. I know him slightly from when I was a paralegal, and daughter wondered if he might preside at hers. They just want a civil ceremony. I wasn’t sure, but his clerk called me right back and said she would check on his calendar, so I guess he does. I think it would be cool if agrees to perform the ceremony!

A couple of weeks ago, I went ahead and ordered that outfit that I wanted for the wedding, even though it was on back order. If it looks like it’s not going to be here my mid-July, I’ll have to scramble to find something else. But I really hope I can get this one.

Well, it’s time to go upstairs and see what I can rustle up for dinner. After a lovely, cool, cloudy day yesterday, it’s been hot as HADES today. We tried out our swamp cooler with the new and upgraded pump today and it works great. For those of you who live in humid climates where the AC takes the moisture OUT of the air, a swamp cooler works on the reverse principle for dry climates and puts moisture INTO the air. Don’t worry, I never heard of them either, till I moved out here.

Ya’ll have a happy Tuesday evening!

GG

6 thoughts on “It’s a New Week

  1. A few years ago a dear friend asked me to stand up in her wedding and I almost ordered that exact outfit! The only reason I didn’t was because the wedding was in early November and the weather can be so unpredictable here around then. It’s beautiful…I’m a little jealous that you’ll have it!

  2. E.M. I HOPE I have it! Keeping my fingers crossed that it’ll get here before the wedding!

    Thanks for the compliment, tho!!
    GG

  3. It is suddenly hot as Hades isn’t it? OMG.

    And that is one incredible dress. I Love it.

    I don’t fish because I don’t eat fish and don’t think it’s fair to the fish if I’m not going to eat them. But I’d love to be in a float tube….

  4. that outfit is delicious! FIND another event to wear it to okay? yowza!

    congrats on the disconnection!

    the swamp cooler thing? i grew up with one. i miss the smell of wet filters. i used to beg to be the one who turned on that sucker… WHOOSH!!! awwwwww

    oxox
    nina

Leave a Reply

