The Stuff Just Keeps on Falling

Last night, after a good day of finishing the kitchen paint job, painting our back patio pink (yes PINK), and an over all good Sunday off, I lay down to go to bed around 11:30. And started to itch. I’ve written about my itching woes before, but this flare-up has been really bad. It’s been going on for at least a month, maybe longer. I actually think the stress that caused it initally has pretty well settled down, but once the skin gets like this, nothing helps but steroids.

So, not willing to face one more night of scratching myself into oblivion, I got up and went to the ER. I must have had perfect timing, as there was NO ONE else in the waiting room when I walked in. Seriously, how often does that happen?

Got called in quickly, triaged, put in a room and given The Gown. Shortly, the P.A. came in, took one look at my legs and said, “Yep. That’s annular eczema. Nothing OTC is going to help that now.” He asked me the standard questions about soaps, laundry detergent, lotions, etc., and while he was talking my cell phone rings.

My cell phone never rings.

I didn’t even realize it WAS my cell phone for a minute, then it hit me.

So, I answered. It was G, calling to tell me her son just called and her ex-husband (his dad) had just passed away due to complications from his MS, that he had had for nearly 30 years. She sounded totally stunned and small. I told her I would be done as soon as I could and get right home.

P.A. was very gracious, they wrote me 2 scrpits for predn!sone and some heavy-duty skin cream that I am NOT to use for more than 14 days and NEVER on my face. (That’s kind of scary…). Fortunately, all the itching now is below the neck.

I was in and out in an hour and a half. At an ER. Wow. I do love living in Pueblo.

So, home it was to hold and comfort my wife, who was utterly devastated and surprised by the strength of her reaction. But, this guy was her high school sweetheart–they met when they were about 13, got married at 19, and if his disease turned him mean and cruel later, she was able to forgive him after they split up, and she always cared about him as his disease progressed. That is what I love so much about her–she has this absolutely endless heart that is incapable of being hateful.

Long story short, she is now on a bus going BACK to NY state, having just been there barely 8 weeks ago for her brother’s funeral. If all goes well, she’ll be there Wednesday morning and get back here next Wednesday. It’s going to be a hell of a long week, but we were just too tapped out for her to fly again, and with her military discount, she got the round trip on the bus for under $200.00. We couldn’t NOT do it. She’s traveled by bus before, takes her crutches and everyone treats her fine. She’ll be okay, but if you want to send some good thoughts our way, I sure wouldn’t turn them down.

Thanks a lot, and I PROMISE my next post will be more upbeat–and maybe even have some pictures.

You all hug your dear ones tonight and let them know how you feel. You never know how long you’ve got or what’s right around the corner.

Be well.

GG

3 thoughts on “The Stuff Just Keeps on Falling

  1. Oh no!!! a) I’m glad you found relief at the ER and b) I’m soooooooooo sorry about G’s ex. 😦

    My love to all of you. 😦

  2. Thanks, ladies. As of this writing, she is still on the bus. Tomorrow morning seems a long way way. Gotta go feed the dog…

    GG

Leave a Reply

