Garden Glories and Mysteries

This morning, it was cool and cloudy for a change, perfect for taking pictures, so I went out and did just that. This is our medicine wheel garden as it is now, with Mexican sunflowers, and a mullein (verbascum–the tall, spikey looking thing). It’s a biennial, so it will die off this season, having been just a large rosette of leaves last year. The yellow flowers are beautiful and really attract the bees:

The centerpiece of this garden is the redbud tree. It’s a slow-growing tree, but is really doing well this year. There’s a little area under the branches where I can just stand upright and feel the whole tree over me. I love standing there early in the morning and just feeling the energy of the whole yard/garden surrounding me.
This is the southeast “quadrant of the wheel. There’s the little banana pepper plant on the right, and a tomato plant just to the left. The low flowering plant is an ornamental oregano, and its flowers look like hops. It’s a really beautiful plant, and the flowers hold up well when picked. I might dry some this year to see what they look like. G. carved the “Namaste” into that piece of wood that she got from somewhere and it was a perfect addition to the garden:

We always have volunteers in our yard. This year, amongst the anise hyssop in the medicine wheel, I noticed some kind of squash or gourd-looking thing was growing. I saw the yellow flowers, but couldn’t tell just what kind of “fruit” we might get until I tentatively parted the leaves the other day and saw…..

…a PERFECT acorn squash!! I’m excited about that, because, if we’re lucky, we’ll have some wonderful stuff for the fall. Acorn squash soup anyone?

Last year, before I went to Spain, G ordered me a selection of “raspberries and cream” lillies, and I planted them last fall as the weather was getting cooler. They have finally started to open, and they are GORGEOUS:

They have the most wonderful scent, and I can catch their perfume all over the yard when the breeze is right. I’m hoping they will expand and “naturalize” a little throughout the pergola garden.

Sometimes, I think our little piece of land is an offshoot of Findhorn. Things just grow here. And they grow bigger than they do in other places. These are our four o’clocks, and everyone who sees them says they’ve never seen four o’clocks like them. I don’t really have much experience with four o’clocks, so to me, this is what they are supposed to look like! But, you can also see they’ve blocked off sidewalk access around the house.
Next to the four o’clocks, is the giant pumpkin plant. The plant is large, and yes, the pumpkins are supposed to be the giant variety, too. G. and GS2 planted, I think, TWO seeds early in the spring. With luck, we will be able to get at least 4 large pumpkins (one for each kid–our 2 and A’s 2–can’t leave them out!), and maybe a couple more for carving at Halloween. I’m not sure if they would e good to eat if they get THAT big. But, maybe a pumpkin pie or two is in our future, as well. I like how G. propped the pumpkin off the concrete:

This is our tomato jungle. Every year, we start a ton of seeds indoors, usually in January. I nurture them and baby them, and talk to them till they’re ready to plant outside. We space them accordingly, and stake or cage them up, and they look so tiny.

And then, something happens. No matter how far we space them, they always end up looking like a jungle. These particular tomatoes are Brandywines, one of my favorite heirloom varieties.

If you carefully “dig in” to the jungle, you can see that the plants are FULL of lovely green Brandywine tomatoes. They take a while to ripen, but I’m hoping I’ll start seeing some red in the jungle in a week or so…

I never ate, grew, or even knew much about chard till I met G, but now it is one of my favorite garden staples. It’s easy to grow, it’s beautiful, it tastes like spinach only a bit more hardy. It holds up under the heat, and it will grow in the early spring and later fall coolness. What a great plant! And if you cut just enough for what you need, it comes back again and again.

We don’t just have veggies in and around the veggie garden. We also love our flowers. This year, we planted tons of zinnia seeds in and around our plumbago, which is coming back for a 2nd year, and has spread out nicely. I was looking for a ground cover that had nice flowers (plumbago is a deep blue), and would help crowd out the weeds. I think I scored a it on this one, plus the leaves turn a lovely maroon color in the fall.

We only planted 2 rows of corn this year, mainly to gather the pollen to use for shamanic work (corn pollen is sacred to the Native Americans of the Southwest). But I love the sight of it (now taller than me), and it has brought back the mason bees to the garden, which are less aggressive than honey bees and are wonderful pollinators. G. also put up a mason bee house for me this spring, and I hope the bees will find it and put it to good use.


These are our little patio cherry tomatoes in pots. This plant is about as tall as I am, and the variety is called “Sweet Million”. As you can see, we’ll be getting quite a few off just this one plant alone!

The tomato plant below is another volunteer. We never planted it or even thought about it. Somehow, it wound up in the little bed next to the chammomile and the irises.

It’s a yellow pear variety, one that we planted on purpose two seasons back, but since then has volunteered happily with no effort on our part. I can’t wait till these little jewels start to ripen. They turn a lovely gold color and they are perfct in salads or just warm off the vine!

Well, that’s about it for this post. I love giving virtual “tours” of our yard and garden, and if you just happen to be in or around Pueblo, let me know and you’re welcome to take home all the fresh produce you can pick. It’s our joy to grow and share this bounty with anyone who wants it.

Help fight high prices, plant a garden!!

All the best,

GG

6 thoughts on “Garden Glories and Mysteries

  1. I am soooo jealous i wish I had a garden. I just know that I don’t have the time that it would require so I will live my dream in yours.

  2. that’s absolutely beautiful! I’m in awe, truly. I’d love a whole garden yard. That’s incredible. Never tried acorn squash.. is it anything like pumpkin?

  3. Jess…acorn squash is sort of like pumpkin, only different 😉 But in that “family”. I like to cut them in half, scoop out the seeds, but a little maple syrup in the scooped out area, brush the cut tops with olive oil and sprinkle a little garlic powder and cinnamon and bake till tender–YUM!

    GG

  4. Your garden is so beautiful! Eddie has kind of demolished ours but then again, he’s 4 months old.

    I love acorn squash. Incredible wonderful winter squash.

    Our spinach and lettuce has bolted but we are getting a lot of tomatoes already. yay for tomatoes!

  5. I was having a bad morning..down in the dumps…and your little tour just made me smile. It was like going to sit in a garden with an old friend. Thank you! I wish I was closer I would be over for your tomatos all the time!!

Leave a Reply

