Life is Too Short

Remember when I posted this about my uncle passing away? What I didn’t post at the time, 1) because it was just too much, and 2) because I really couldn’t get my head around it, was that when my aunt called to tell me about my uncle, she also told me that my cousin, her oldest daughter, had discovered a melanoma she had had removed from her arm a while back had returned to her brain.

I was simply too stunned to even react.

Today, I got a note from my aunt with a copy of my cousin’s obituary. She passed on August 15, 2008, just 5 days shy of her 30th wedding anniversary. She was 53.

As I wrote, we cousins have not been close over the years. But my heart aches tonight for her family, and especially for my aunt, who lost not only the love her life this summer, my uncle, but her oldest child, within 3 weeks of each other.

Fortunately, the note also included my 2 other cousins’ e-mails, so I will at least try to let them know how sorry I am with inadequate words, and perhaps we can reconnect. Perhaps out of this loss of family, some reconnection of family can begin.

It’s about the best I can think of right now.

Please send some good thoughts winging to North Carolina in the next few days.

Thanks,

GG

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 thoughts on “Life is Too Short

  1. I will. Been telling my blog readers this “Life is short” all week…hard for some to grasp. I come from a big family, so been to a lot of funerals and now at 51–TOO MANY of my peers have deadly health problems. Hard to figure.

  2. So sorry for you and your family. I hope the memories your aunt has of her husband and child will comfort her in the days to come.

  3. I seem to be spending my comments over here offering you condolences.

    I know one of my cousins is like a sister to me. The rest of the family I can, for the most part, leave.

    So sorry GG – it stinks on ice.

  4. Thanks, all, for the kind words. They mean a lot.

    Lori, hopefully you won’t have to be offering me any more condolences for a while!

    I’ll try to get back to the ol’ upbeat GG shortly…after all, life IS too short!

    GG

Leave a Reply

