The Arrogance is Stunning

Coming before the voters in Colorado this fall is Amendment 48, also known as “The Personhood Amendment“. If passed, this amendment will make Margaret Atwood’s “The Handmaid’s Tale” one step closer to evil, chilling, and scary reality.

The people who sponsored and who back this amendment actually want to change the STATE CONSTITUTION to say that a fertilized egg is a person. A fertilized egg. From the “moment of fertilization”. AS IF anyone could know that. AS IF.

This is unspeakable. This is the most blatant attempt of a government to force its way into the homes and BODIES of women that I have ever seen. Even before Roe v. Wade, EGGS were not thought of as PEOPLE.

This is political and governmental rape, pure and simple.

Think of it. You get pregnant, and have a miscarrige, which, by the way in MEDICAL terms, is called a “spontaneous abortion”. What then? Are you brought up on charges for 2nd degree manslaughter?

Oh, the possibilities are endless! Got raped and pregnant? Too bad, should have stayed home. Got raped by your abusive husband? What??? A wife can’t be raped by her husband and you should be “submissive” anyway. Got raped on a date? Oh, well shit, you shouldn’t have had on those sexy clothes. My bad, guess all us women will be needing burkhas soon, to cover ourselves up so that we won’t INFLAME those manly passions that can’t be controlled.

You may think I’m joking or trying to be funny. I am not. I am DEAD serious. Because if this “amendment” passes there are going to be a lot of dead women because of it.

Personally, I am down-on-my-knees, kiss-the-ground grateful that I am a lesbian and that I have my tubes tied, AND that I’m 51 years old now, because when they come around and make sterilization illegal and start forcing mandatory pregnancy….I’ll be in menopause and it will be TOO LATE.

Please, please, PLEASE Colorado voters, PLEASE do not let this horrible, horrible amendment pass. Please show the world you have better sense than this.

If you’re still in doubt about what this could lead to, I suggest you read this story. It’s fiction, but all too soon could be fact.

Scared and ashamed in Colorado tonight,

GG

5 thoughts on “The Arrogance is Stunning

  1. Oh my. I just finished reading “The Handmaid’s Tale” and was both enthralled and appalled by it. Mr. EM read it after I did and his first comment was, “You know, we’re not really too far from this as a society, really.” He’s right and so are you. I could go on forever and ever about this issue. I’m glad I don’t live in your state right now, but that doesn’t mean the other 49 are safe. Keep spreadin’ the good word, GG!

    Oh yeah, and the lovely “Patrick” spewed a hate-filled comment my way after reading my comment on your post about him. I warned my readers about him. What a scary dude.

  2. Thank you so very much for your opposition to Amendment 48!

    You might be interested to read an issue paper recently published by the Coalition for Secular Government: “Amendment 48 Is Anti-Life: Why It Matters That a Fertilized Egg Is Not a Person” by Ari Armstrong and myself. It’s available at:

    http://www.seculargovernment.us/docs/a48.pdf

    We discuss some of the serious implications of this proposed amendment, including its effects on the legality of abortion, birth control, and in vitro fertilization. And we offer a strong defense of abortion rights based on the biological facts of pregnancy.

    Diana Hsieh
    Founder, Coalition for Secular Government
    http://www.seculargovernment.us

  3. Dear One,

    When I was in fifth grade, I first learned about the Nazis and the Holocaust. I felt horrified…and, because of my German-American heritage, a little guilty by association.

    Then, in ninth grade, my parents sat with me to watch Two Women with Sophia Loren. That was when I first learned about rape…and again, I felt horrified and guilty by association.

    Sometime during my middle school years I read Orwell’s Nineteen Eighty-four and Bradberry’s Fahrenheit 451.

    Again I felt horrified…but this time it was because I had already come intuitively to understand that the human race was capable of doing such horrible things again.

    More specifically, I intuited that, despite our mythology about ourselves, the people of the United States are capable of letting themselves go along with what Hannah Arendt called the banality of evil.

    We hide this banal evil behind ideological and moralistic cliches.

    We crave after the consumer lifestyle so much that, when politicians claim what we have is threatened, we are willing to look the other way while the poor, the criminalized, the immigrants and Third World foreigners, the racial and sexual and religous minorities, the people with HIV/AIDS or addictions or disabilities…while these people fall through the cracks or are pushed through.

    My problem is: I can descibe it, but I don’t know what to do about it.

    Longing for hope,
    Michael Bright Crow

  4. So I have now been visited by the lovely Patrick. What a nut. So i guess he has no clue. He did ask if you are my partner. guess he doesn’t read either one of our blogs before he just spews his hate. Love the blog keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

