Double-Tagged—WhooHooo!!

This morning, I got tagged by Jero to do a 7-Thing meme, and then just now, I saw that I also got tagged for the same meme by Butch Boo. Would you look at that? Double-tagged, and by 2 butches, no less. What could be better than that?? (sex bench) So, since I got tagged by 1 of the folks that I was going to tag, I think this time, I’ll not tag anyone, but just do the meme anyway.

First of all, The RULZ:

1. Link to your tagger(s)–see above–and list these rules on your blog.
2. Share 7 facts about yourself on your blog – some random, some weird.
3. Tag 7 people at the end of your post by leaving their names as well as links to their blog.
4. Let them know they have been tagged by leaving a comment on their blog.

So, with no further ado, here are 7 more random “Grumpy” facts:

1. I got the nickname “Grumpy Granny” in 2000, right before my 1st grandson was born. I had managed to take my mother on her dream-of-a-lifetime trip to England, Ireland, and Scotland, and while we were in Edinburgh, we met a very nice Australian man at our B&B who was taking his time traveling around the world. It was one of those things where you just meet someone and hit it right off. During the course of our conversations, I let it be known that my 17-year-old daughter was about to have a baby, and that I wasn’t too happy about it; hence “Grumpy Granny”. For some reason I really liked the name, and have been using it ever since.

2. When I was 23, I ran away and joined the circus. Yes, THE circus. Ringling Brothers, Barnum and Bailey. I worked on the “Blue Unit” and I was a cook. On the train, the place where you eat is known as the “pie car”. I lived on the train, and because I was my boss’ only employee with a valid drivers’ license, I also ran the little “roach coach” that we would set up at the show venue for the employees to eat at. I learned one very important lesson there, which was: Never marry anyone you meet when you are working for the circus.

3. In order to work as a cook for the circus, I had to join the Teamsters’ Union. I am, however, no longer a member.

4. I love scarves! I probably have over 100 scarves hanging on 2 racks on the back of my bedroom door. However, I cannot wear them in the summer because I can’t stand anything around my neck when it’s hot. Conversely, in the winter, I have to have my neck covered, so I usually have some kind of scarf wrapped around me.

5. Before I die, I am determined to learn how to dance the tango. I don’t care if my dancing partner is a man or a woman, but I want to learn how to do it and do it well.

6. Without my glasses, I am legally blind, with uncorrected vision of 20/500 with astigmatism. However, although my vision is poor, my eyes are healthy, which I am very grateful for.

7. Swimming is my favorite exercise. I learned how to swim before I was 2 years old, and actually do not remember NOT knowing how to swim. When I was in college, I swam a mile every day just because I loved being in the water so much. But I’ve never swum competitively. Funny thing–wearing goggles underwater, I can see quite clearly!

And there you have it– 7 uniquely “Grumpy” things. Thanks to those who tagged me, and next time, I WILL pass it on.

Have a great night,

GG

5 thoughts on “Double-Tagged—WhooHooo!!

  1. Tango is fab. Grumpy Granny is a great name I used to call my granddad grumpy granddad (cos he was!) sorry about your sight but as you say you have your health which is good. I have to wear a scarf on my motorbike now- nice and snug.

    BB
    X

  2. That’s really interesting about learning to swim as a baby. I remember almost drowning when I was 7 and then learning how. I love being in the water, I’m a fish in the summer.

    The circus thing IS cool. I have seen you mention that before on your blog but I thought you were kidding. LOL. Are they really mean to the animals? Do I really want an answer?

  3. Jess, they weren’t really MEAN to the animals that I could see, but it’s just not a great life for them–large animals, small cages, traveling on a train, being in different places all the time, etc. I do remember an elephant getting a bit “rough” with his handlner once, and smashing his collar bone in an instant. I loved the big, draft horses the best, because whenever the train was some distance from the show venue, we did an “animal walk” and I got to ride them and wave to people!!

Leave a Reply

