Nothing Is Broken

Yesterday, after I finished work, I had some errands to run. G. was at a friend’s house working on quilting projects, and I had the car. So, off I went to one place to get G’s Christmas present taken care of–all paid and they are holding it for me since I have nowhere to hide it here; the store (we’re getting together tomorrow with a dear friend for a belated TG and Mah-Jongg), and the bank(s) to get various financial things accomplished.

All the while, driving from place to place, I was listening to a new Abraham CD that a friend had loaned us. I have been aware of and listening to Abraham’s messages for about 11 years now. These are supposedly “channeled” messages from a non-physical group of beings that collectively call themselves “Abraham”.

Abraham is (are?) channeled by a woman named Esther Hicks, and quite honestly, I don’t know from channeling, so I don’t know if this collective entity really does speak through her from “beyond” or if she just makes the stuff up. But, I tell you this, if she DOES make it up, she is a hell of a lot more evolved and “in tune” than most of us here on Earth slogging away for our daily wage. In the end, it doesn’t really matter. It’s the message that matters, and then what you do with it, which is true of any form of philosopy or religion, right?

I won’t get into the details of Abraham’s many messages; you can click on the link above for that.

All I can say is, that when I listed to this message or messages, I have such a feeling of “rightness” in my gut, in my soul, if you will. It takes me right to the core beliefs that I have held for as long as I can remember, only I have never been able to articulate them in such a wonderful and exact fashion.

The one thing that stuck with me yesterday, and I have posted about this tangentially before, is that it is Abraham’s firm contention that nothing in our world is broken. Once, again, I point to the media, whose sole purpose seems to be keeping watchers and readers in a constant state of panic and worry about anything and everything that goes on in the world, from terrorism and unrest in parts of the world that most of us have never heard of, to fear and loathing of our own water and food supplies.

I’m not saying that these things don’t exist. Of course, they do. But they exist because we ALLOW them to. We ACCEPT that “this is how the world is” and we go on wallowing in it. It’s difficult not to, but it is possible. Case in point: in 2001, when I separated from my 2nd husband, before I met G, I was living in a very small but wonderful apartment that was the top floor of an old house. We only had 1 TV in our house, and it belonged to him before I moved to CO, so naturally, he kept the TV. For 1 year, I lived without a TV. I was also only working part time, 3 days a week, with a 100-mile-a-day commute, so with limited funds, I didn’t subscribe to a newspaper either.

One morning, I was going up the elevator on the way to work, and this man turns to me and says, “What about that Joe Blow?” At that time, right after 9/11, Joe Blow was that young American man who had been captured as a member of Al Queda or the Taliban, and charged with treason. Well, other than seeing the events of 9/11 ON 9/11 at work, I really didn’t know what was going on with that, and I said to the man, “I’m sorry I don’t know who you are talking about.” He looked at me like I was from Mars, as well I might have been. How could you not know this? his expression clearly said, and why wouldn’t you want to? But you know what? I was a LOT happier in that year with no TV yammering at me about how awful things were, than I’m sure I would have been if I had listened to CNN every day.

But I am digressing from my point. My point is that NOTHING that happens in this world is random. Nothing. We create it. We all say we want “world peace” and I suppose we do, but only on certain terms. And in the desiring of world peace, all we seem to do is to continue to focus war and terrorism, war and terrorism, war and terrorism. So, even though we are WANTING world peace, what do we actualy GET? War and terrorism. Because that is where we focus. And when you want one thing, but focus on something else, the something else is what you get.

Oh, you say, but if we don’t fight back, if we don’t DEFEND ourselves, what then? Well, what IF we pulled out of Iraq? What IF started spending that money on feeding our children REAL food in schools instead of high fructose corn syrup and overprocessed wheat? What IF we went into inner cities and instead of building new high-rise $500,000 condos that will be foreclosed on in a few months, we took just ONE of those lots and turned it into a community garden that would feed people and bring them together? What IF we actually went to the library and READ books on the cultures behind the terrorists, and dug down to find root causes instead of reading only headlines and hearing sound bytes, and giving ALL our precious attention to the very things that we DO NOT WANT? What IF we began to turn our focus, not to events playing out in parts of the world that are only names on a map, but RIGHT WHERE WE ARE? I think if we all did that, even for a month, that we would see a HUGE shift in what happens in our lives and in the world.

Mother Teresa said it best: She said she would always work FOR peace, but she would never joint a protest AGAINST war. Do you see the difference? Do you say there is no difference? If you think there is no difference in working FOR or AGAINST something, then you will always have what you are working AGAINST.

What you resist, persists. I don’t know who said that originally, but I had a boss once who used to say it all the time, and it is so true. What you resist, persists. It’s like you are pushing against a door to open it, but the hinges of the door are made to go in the opposite direction, so the harder you push, the tighter the door closes. You could push as hard as you possibly could forever, and you will not change the direction of those hinges. Whereas if you would just stop for a moment and actally LOOK at the door, you might notice how the hinges work, and then you could easily PULL the door open.

Nothing in our world is broken, it is all a matter of perspective, a matter of working FOR or AGAINST. And it is up to us, to every, single, each one of us, because nothing happens in the law or in politics that has not already happened at the “grassroots” level. Laws are not passed proactively. All laws are REACTIVE, they are in response to things that have been going on for long periods of time, but have finally gotten big enough to be noticed, so a law must then be passed, 1) either to ensure that whatever has been happening keeps happening, or 2) to keep what happened from happening again.

In the end, it all comes down to focus and attention, and how you feel when you do it. If you put your attention on a situation, and it makes you feel bad, and nervous and tied up in knots, maybe it would be better to focus on what makes you feel better. Or, if you have no choice but to focus on the uncomfortable thing, i.e. a job you don’t like, then spend some time focusing on the better parts of it. I have worked in a lot of jobs that I did not care for, and I can tell you that even in the WORST jobs that I had, there was something positive in all of them.

People may read this and say, “Oh, this is all so ‘Pollyana-ish'” and maybe that’s true.

But, if the world is as bad as everyone makes it out to be, and this “philosophy” offers you a way to really change it, wouldn’t it be worth a try?

I mean, really, what have we got to lose besides war, terrorism, bad debt, worry, anxiety, poverty and fear?

Pretty scary, huh?

GG

3 thoughts on “Nothing Is Broken

  1. Interesting thoughts, and to a degree there is a lot of truth.

    The one part I disagree with is the “turning inward”- ie, focusing on our issues at home. While that is SORELY needed, it will not prevent outside cultures who despise our freedoms and prosperity from plotting against us. I am far from a war hawk, but I do not believe that we can ignore the fact that some humanity, despite any renewed diplomatic efforts, peaceful withdrawls, repaired international relationships, etc will not still have radicals who wish to harm others.

    That said, I do think that we create a lot of our personal realities on a smaller, more macro level. It would be very interesting to see the positivity which might ensue if everyone focused on making their own reality better, kinder, compassionate. I do think we’d see a lot of good things, then.

  2. I do agree with you Lachlan, and at this point in time and evolution, it would be silly to think that we could just go so far as to disband the military, etc.

    But, the reason we have the situation in Iraq now is because our president went out and STARTED that war pre-emptively, and we can certainly do better than that. Pretty much ALL the media stuff about the war since then has been a distraction from the fact that WE put ourselves in this position, led with grand and flaming rhetoric by GWB. I have no idea where we might be now, if cooler heads had prevailed or if enough folks in Congress had had the balls to say No to him, but I have a strong feeling it would be a somewhat better place than we are now. Of course, we’ll never know, and can only work with what we have.

    Thanks so much for a thoughtful comment!!

    GG

  3. “But, the reason we have the situation in Iraq now is because our president went out and STARTED that war pre-emptively, and we can certainly do better than that.”

    No argument there- definitely. What I meant though was in the broader sense, not really focusing on the current wars.

    We have a lot of room to grow with regards to understanding other countries, religions, cultures, etc. Even when better understanding is attained, I believe there will still be conflict- that is just human nature. Hopefully that conflict will lessen, however.

Leave a Reply

