The Camping Trip

It’s been a long, busy week.  These days I am typing so much during the day it’s all I can do to keep up with a blog, but I wanted to write about our trip to the Sand Dunes last weekWe had such a fabulous time.  Friday was a little hectic, because I worked and wanted to be done early, so I hardly took time to eat or pee.  We had pretty much been packing all week, tent, coolers, bedding, etc. and G got about 99% of it in the car before I finished working.  Once I got done and we loaded up the last of the stuff–and the dog, we were ready to go.

Only to find that we couldn’t find the car keys!!  Mercury has REALLY been in retrograde this month!  Finally, we gave up and used her spare car key and my spare house keys and off we went.  To date, we still have not found those keys!  They will probably turn up once Mercury goes direct again.

The trip down was uneventful, but it was dusk when we arrived and getting windy and very chilly.  Our co-campers already had a fire going, so we got our tent up quickly (we work well together), and went over to share potluck dinner.

The rest of the time was just amazing.  The weather cleared, and while it was cool in the evenings, it was sunny and great during the day.  We hiked, and waded in the water, and G even climbed the dunes with 2 of our friends on Saturday night.  I was just too pooped from the earlier hike.  I rigged up my poncho liner over a tree branch and lay out on the ground and took a nap.  It was just like a mini-vision quest, very soul-renewing, which I needed.

Monday, we took our time going back, taking a side trip to Zapata Falls which is on Mount BlancaThis peak has great spiritual significance to me, and it was great to hike up there and just commune with the mountain. Mountains have much to tell you if you will just listen.  So, now I will just post some pictures, and hope you enjoy them.  We will definitely be going back to camp there again!

Breakfast

One thought on “The Camping Trip

  1. Great pictures, Linda! It looks like you had a wonderful time. I really love seeing the landscape ~ such a beautiful change from all of this verdant greenery.

Leave a Reply

