Learning Curve

Well, the open water swim was good, but not as good as I had hoped.  However, I learned a TON of stuff, and that is a big thing.

First of all, even though I had a hard time finding it, the facility is wonderful.  The lake was clean (as far as lakes go), small and private.  The course was marked out with large, orange buoys that I could see even without my glasses.  There were a variety of ages, shapes and experience levels there and the staff made everyone feel welcome.  I did not feel a bit out of place.

I walked into the water with a woman about my age or a bit older, and took off.  The water was not that chilly to my body–about 75 degrees, but when I put my head in, it was quite a shock.  I normally do not wear a swim cap but see that must be remedied (a trip to REI afterwards took care of it).  I had got to about the 250-meter buoy, when I realized I was having a hard time getting my breath.  Then I started to cough up “stuff”.  I could not figure out why, because I had not swallowed any water nor got any up my nose.  Yet, I was just hacking up stuff, and every time I put my head in the water, the cold shock made me almost gasp and so I was not able to get into a rhythmic breathing pattern which is ESSENTIAL for swimming.  After I got round the buoy, I decided I wouldn’t push it, and just breast stroke the rest of the way.  I don’t like the breast stroke much, especially keeping my head out of the water as it is quite slow, but each time I put my head back in, the  breath thing would happen, so I just sucked it up and did my half-mile.  I was hoping to do a full mile, but, as I said, that not catching my breath feeling wasn’t fun, so I cut it short.  Still, according to G, I managed in about half an hour, which wasn’t bad.

So, I’ve been looking at wet suits, and will hope to continue to swim with my group and maybe at the local college when fall semester starts.  Last year, they had evening hours, so I might be able to swim more days a week.  I learned that open water swimming is FAR different from pool laps and I have some work to do.

I’ve been tired today and my chest hurts a little bit, almost like a bruise.  I also wondered if just the fact of being in so much MORE water (the pressure) was a factor, but I wasn’t any deeper in the water, there was just more of it.  I didn’t walk today, and tomorrow I have to take G to the VA for a doctor’s appointment back in Denver, so I won’t swim again till Thursday.

Hopefully, by then I will be back to form and ready to lap!

Plus I have to plan at least one more trip to the lake to see if I can really swim that half mile, if not the whole enchilada!

Off to cook dinner,

GG

2 thoughts on “Learning Curve

  1. The thing I’ve noticed about challenging physical endeavors is this: keep doing it. If you keep doing it, increasing incrementally, eventually you will triumph. I know that you will succeed! I’m cheering for you!

Leave a Reply

