A Whirlwind Week

So, it’s Thursday already?  Man, this summer is zipping by at warp speed!  This morning, I did my final swim at the pool just blocks from the house.  It was practically pitch dark when I arrived, pulling in just behind a police car.  Uh-oh, that couldn’t be good.  Apparently, since it’s now DARK at 5:30 a.m. when the lifeguard gets there, someone called in a “suspicious activity” call.  Rachel, the guard, was there, and there were already 2 guys in the pool, swimming away.  Pretty suspicious, yeah.  But she does go into the lifeguard room and pull out her chair to sit in, so maybe the watcher thought something was being stolen.  By the time I got to my usual swim place, a 2nd car had come in and both cops were talking to Rachael.  Guess it was something of  a novelty to them to see grownups swimming in the dark.  Nice way to end up the season–with a good story.

~)~)~)~)~)~

Then, I got home barely in time to shower off the chlorine and get some breakfast by 7am for work–and the phone rings.  I am assuming it’s my daughter with another crisis, but it’s not…it’s a friend of ours, X, who I personally think has a little bit of a “thing” for G.  She stopped by yesterday to see her, but G was out doing something with another friend, so we chatted a bit and she took home some veggies as her garden had been totally trashed by the hail storm last week.

Anyway, when I answered the phone, she was like, man, why don’t I ever get G on the phone?  I had to laugh.  I know she meant it partly because she knows I work here and doesn’t want to bother me, but also because she wanted to talk to G.  I said, well, G was still asleep, but I’d be happy to give her any message, whatever.  I guess she wanted to know if G could come over and help her put another cover over her garden gazebo frame as her other tarp had also been destroyed by hail.  I told her not to buy a new tarp because we had tons of extra ones and that I’d relay the message.

I hung up chuckling.  G. barely made her way out of bed about that time and I have to say I teased her pretty bad about her “crush” and asked her to please call the woman so she could relax.  They ended up going to breakfast and G and X got the tarp over the gazebo fixed.  G also said that her yard was messed up pretty bad.

No, I’m not the least bit jealous.  X has never said or done anything inappropriate, it’s just a “vibe” that both of us get.  We could both be way off base.

~)~)~)~)~

We had a new bird in the yard for the last couple of days:

BlackHeadedGrosbeakPH8

It’s a black-headed grosbeak and it was having a great time on one of the big sunflower heads that we had pulled up and laid in the driveway when the house was being painted and we needed space to put the ladder.  I love it when new birds show up and this guy is a real cutie.  Not quite as large as a robin, but definitely bigger than the sparrows and finches.

~)~)~)~)~

Tomorrow, we will have our t’chi class, then on the way home, it’s the local farmers’ market and we are going to buy some yummy Colorado-grown peaches.  They grow them on the Western slope of the Rockies and they are delicious.  G usually makes a couple of pies, we freeze some fresh and then make a big batch of peach butter that is TO  DIE  FOR.  Between that and the basil pesto, summer can be had in the middle of winter!

~)~)~)~)~

Saturday after work, we are going back up to Denver.  1) I am going to tackle the lake again on Sunday morning.  The pool water has been relatively cool, but since I started using the swim cap, it hasn’t bothered me at all.  Keep your fingers crossed for me.  I really need to know I can do this.  2) It is my friend Val’s birthday on Saturday, and we’re going to stay with her, have a cookout with some grilled veggies that we will provide, then play board games Saturday night, and on Sunday after I swim, we’ll take her out to breakfast and then go see “Julie and Julia” for her BD treat.  Val used to be my boss when I worked at the HMO, and it was one of those things where you meet someone and start talking to them, and it’s like you’re picking up a conversation from another life.  It’s been 9 years since I left the HMO, and we don’t see each other a lot, but whenever we talk, it’s like no time has passed.  She is one great lady and I love her to bits.

~)~)~)~)~

Then, on Sunday we’ll come back in the afternoon and hopefully I’ll have a peaceful Monday before I start the whole thing over again.  Now it’s gearing up for back to school and all that brings with it.  Plus I have to find a new pool to swim in–and a wetsuit!

Wish me luck!

GG

4 thoughts on “A Whirlwind Week

  1. Good luck with the swimming, GG. You sound quite motivated and that is usually the most important part of being successful. Hope you enjoy the rest of the weekend. It sure sounds busy!

  2. Friends like Val are the greatest. I have one like that from college and just love when I have the opportunity to talk with her.

    Good luck with your lake swim. I’m sure you’ll do great.

    Enjoy Julie and Julia…let your readers know how it is. I’m not sure if I want to see it or not, though I do love me some Meryl! The woman can do ANYTHING!!!

Leave a Reply

