Business As Usual

Yesterday was my day off.  I say “day” off because, while I will have another day off from work on Wednesday, I swapped my usual day off of today for that one in order to take G to Denver to have her staples removed.  Personally, I think it sucks to have to drive 250 miles (round trip) to have her staples pulled out by a PA when I KNOW she won’t see the doctor.  It’s going to be a while before she can drive with this knee, as it is way more difficult for her to lift and work this leg (the right one) that it was for the left one due to nerve damage.  However, the physical therapist thinks she is doing a bang-up job and so do I!

Yesterday, I got 13 plants in the ground that we ordered for the next generation of the front yard.  There will be veggies, of course, but not as many as this year.  I planted them in a garden bed that we plan to leave fallow next year, just so they can get established over the winter because we’re still not exactly sure where we might want them and there are still veggies in the front.  We are seriously thinking of experimenting with making our own ketchup with the roma tomatoes.  If anyone has recipes to share, please comment!

~*~*~*~*~*~

Which leads me to (don’t ask me how)…we have an anniversary coming up–our 7th.  I find it nearly impossible to believe that we have been together that long, yet when I think about everything that has happened in our lives in that time, we could have stretched out the events over a couple of decades!  I have a wee surprise planned, but can’t mention it here; however, pictures MAY follow after October 2.  If you want to read about “the wedding”, you can go here. We had been together for 2 years when we decided to “seal” it with a ceremony.

~*~*~*~*~

And now, I am done for the day, thanks to a little pedal to the metal.  I have to run to the bank, and pick up a pie for dessert because friends MJ and P are coming over tonight for mah-jongg, although  I may have to force them to watch the season premiere of Dancing With the Stars.  I don’t talk about it much, but I am an absolute ballroom dancing freak.  I took classes years ago before I moved to CO and 2nd husband wasn’t into it, and G can’t really do it because of her injury, but I would LOVE to find some kind of lesbian ballroom dancing club (if there even is such a thing).  I want to learn how to tango before I die, and I’m not sure I really want to go to Buenos Aires to do it!  Although it is a possibility.

~*~*~*~

Just some passing observations:   Since I have studied another language (Spanish) and keep trying to improve on it, I feel I can make the criticism:  Dr. X from whatever middle eastern country you are from, you REALLY need to speak the English language better before trying to talk FAST!  All that comes out is a sound that is similar to someone trying to snorkel through oatmeal.  I understood approximately every 3rd word of your dictation.  How is that good for your patient?  Get real, Abdul!

Today we actually turned on the furnace and it was warmer in the (mostly unheated) basement than it was upstairs.  It’s been raining most of the day, but now the sun is peeking out.  Supposedly, there was a bit of snow in the high country today as well.

Happy days in Colorado!

GG


4 thoughts on “Business As Usual

  1. Congratulations on your upcoming anniversary! I’m sure it just gets better and better with you two.

    I know exactly what you mean in regard to the dictation. So frustrating! I don’t know why these doctors think that they have to speak a thousand words a minute. It doesn’t make them more efficient.

  2. Thanks, e! Haizey, I was not completely clear–I WOULD go to Buenos Aires, but unfortunately at this time, the cost is prohibitive. Someday I would love to go and turn out a tango or two!!

    GG

  3. Happy almost anniversary!!

    Ugh, this is just ONE of the reasons I hated taking dictation.

    That and the fact that I think that a person can’t type/write out their own thoughts but instead makes someone else do it, kinda pisses me off. LOL

Leave a Reply

