Frustration

It’s Friday and my work has been drilling it into our heads that this is the time that we are busy, busy, busy.  So, I started early because I want to flex my time for my t’ai chi class (the ONE thing I haven’t stopped since the summer).  So, what?  I’m sitting here waiting for work.  Also, last week I got switched or “added” rather to the speech recognition function at work rather than just working in typing text.  What this means is that the documents come in with the text already in it, and then you just have to move it around, make sure it’s formatted all right, etc. and send it along.  It’s SUPPOSED to be quicker, so the idea is that you are able to do more lines, thereby making more money.  Sounds good, right?

Well, hold your panties–the pay rate for speech is about HALF of what it is for text, and the documents don’t come in nearly as nice as they are supposed to.  You get things like “She became her own government,” when the line was supposed to be “She started work as a governess.”  It’s actually a lot harder because it’s EDITING versus just typing, and that means you really do have to check for each “a”, “and” and “the” in the document and you know how we love to just PUT those in with our eyes whether they are really there or not.

Luckily I am WAY better at editing a document I have not previously typed myself, so, so far, so good.  Except for this darn waiting for work.  Happened yesterday too, so I switched over to another account, but it was my first time and I have had NO experience with those docs, and the first document I got was a VERY technical report about cancer, all the staging info, tumor types, etc.  These are terms, while simple, are lots of letters and numbers, and I wasn’t sure which ones should be capped, which needed spaces or dashes or what.

Just very frustrating.  It’s rather difficult to get anyone “in power” to respond to you but I was lucky enough to have a co-worker in Iowa who sent me some of the e-mails that I had foolishly not kept.  The downside of not having coworkers just a cubicle away.

The boys will be here in a few minutes, and then I will be on the way to t’ai chi.  They are out of school today. On an up note, we are going to a friend’s fundraiser tonight.  She is a great artist and is selling a lot of her older work, hopefully at affordable prices, as I have an area in the bedroom that I want to change.  It’s just a thought right now, but if I see the right piece, I’ll know it.  I love her work, so click the link and check it out.

Okay, the chicken I put in the oven this morning is done and it’s time for me to go get ready for t’ai chi.

Have a great weekend, all!

GG

One thought on “Frustration

  1. Those changes in computer programs can really slow down your productivity. Last year we replaced 4 of our primary systems and it was like having my hands cut off. All my shortcuts, all my insider knowledge, gone!

    Glad you’ve kept up the tai chi!

Leave a Reply

