Back To It (In Spades)

The retreat was a success.  Started off in the early morning by getting into the hot tub in a light snow.  That was heavenly.  Sunday mornings are quiet around here anyway and when it’s snowing (even a dusting), things just seem to come to a complete stop.  There was hardly even any traffic on the highway–just the very light hissing sound of tiny snowflakes falling and an occasional chirp of a bird at the feeder.  Sitting neck-deep in the hot water (no jets) and just letting myself wake up inch by inch was incredible. Then the wind really picked up and managed to blow the shade cloth screen all over the place, so it was time to get out and go back into the warm house.  I made coffee, read a little bit and then headed down to do some meditation, tarot, and work with my mesa and other tools.  It had been way too long and I had to get reacquainted with everything.

I think I was down there for 2 or 3 hours and it just reaffirmed how much I love my little meditation space.  Small, but just right for sitting zazen or doing some yoga, etc.  I even have a hand-painted rocking chair that G bought for me several years ago at an auction we attended.  The only down side is that it can be chilly in the winter, but I brought in my small space heater and shut the door and it was quite comfy in no time–even sitting on the floor.  Also, the MP3 player and docking station are perfect for setting the background ambiance.

The rest of the day was just as pleasant.  I did what I wanted to do when I wanted to do it.  I made a loaf of banana bread and roasted some red peppers to marinate for later use.  I browsed through magazines and newspapers that had been lying around for a few days.  I watched a little TV and listened to some music.  It was just a complete day of non-doing and it was great.

Yesterday was the antithesis of that.  We got up with a list of things to get done:  G had a certified package she had to pick up at the P.O, we needed to go visit our teacher and pick up some things from her, we wanted to go to Sam’s Club so I could get my card updated and see if they had these shirts that I had bought a couple of weeks ago in any more colors because I LOVE them and wanted more.  After that, we went back home to unpack the perishables, and make final plans for dinner and mah-jongg with our friends MJ and Peggy, who just had a hip replacement.  She is doing fabulous, and was ready to get out of the house, so we decided to all meet at MJ’s.  She has the perfect mah-jongg table.  G and I were going to see “2012” with another friend.  The timing was perfect.  We were done with the movie with enough time to swing by the store, pick up rotisserie chickens and deli salads, then pick up Peggy and get to MJ’s at the appointed time.  The mah-jong mavens had a blast–and I even got a mah-jong in one game, which rarely happens.

Got home at 9-ish and thought I was going to write, but I was just pooped.  So, I headed to bed with “Drood” (I’m a bit more than half-way through), and was off to dreamland soon.

Today started with a load of laundry that brought water bubbling up into the tub and then back into the washer right after I got the clothes in the dryer.  We went through this earlier this year, so it didn’t seem like it was right for it to be happening again.  I had heard some “glugging” over the weekend and had done the soda/vinegar/boiling water down the tub, and things were calm for a day or two.  But, there was nothing for it but to call our plumber, Joe, back to the scene.  We love this guy.  After snaking everything out and finding, again, that there was NOTHING between the house and the easy-out in the back of the yard, we are all seriously thinking this has to be a problem with the city lines.  But the trouble is, we have to prove it.  Oh, boy, a fight with city hall, just what I want to do.  At least we have the plumber on our side!  He’s going to come back tomorrow and do another pipe-cam, so maybe I’ll get a pic of him on here.  He really is a doll.

When life goes to the trenches, it’s good to have a plumber you can count on.

GG

One thought on “Back To It (In Spades)

Leave a Reply

