Undone

I just got a call from my daughter.  Apparently, she (and the boys) are leaving the husband.  Once again, chaos reigns.  I certainly understand why she’s doing this because I know what it’s like to turn yourself into a doormat for “love” at the expense of your soul.  But right now I just ache for my boys, especially GS2 who loves this man desperately, who has called him “dad” so happily and was always going on about “his parents”.  Once again, they lose a house, a parent, a pet.

Dammit.  Just dammit.

I don’t know what to do.  I can’t “fix” anything (don’t want to), but just wondering if at least I should have the boys over here tonight to get them out of the immediate wrenching sadness–maybe just let them cry if they want or need to.

I can’t even say I’m surprised.  I hoped this would not happen but knew it would.  Just like her mother, my daughter is a strong woman and attracts weak men with a need to “put her in her place”.  They are drawn to her like moths to a flame.

I hope soon she learns to put up the bug repellent.

Please say a prayer for my boys.

The harshest thing is, that tomorrow, this could all be a different story.  Bear with me.

5 thoughts on “Undone

  1. So sorry. Having lived through a bad marriage and divorce, with kids – hers and ours involved, I know it’s a heart wrenching process for all involved, as I know you do too.

    My prayer, if I were the praying sort, would be for all involved to pass through this gauntlet with as few bumps and scrapes as possible. May it all pass quickly and peacefully.

  2. Thanks, Thurman. That would be the perfect prayer. I totally realize that life tosses us all bumps and bruises, but it’s hard to see the kids suffer. They did come over that night and the little one cried and got babied, so I felt better. They left the next morning with clean clothes and a good breakfast and lots of love. If I can’t do anything more than that, I guess that will have to be enough.

    GG

Leave a Reply

