And Now…

…for something completely different.  The family drama continues apace, but I am trying to stay out of it.  Today, I got confirmation that, since switching to “speech recognition” instead of “medical transcription”, I am now making about half of what I made per line previously.  Which means the hamster wheel must turn even faster in order for me to make my pittance.

SIGH.

On we go.

Last night I made the Best. Pea. Soup. Ever.  Even if you don’t like pea soup you would like this.  I promise.  Aside from being the Best, it is also the Easiest, and here I will prove it.  Below, the recipe:

1 Honey B@ked ham bone (use your left over one, or you can actually buy the bones for much less than the hams–this one had enough meat left on it for a couple of sandwiches in addition to the soup; definitely a bargain!)

1 onion, diced

3 carrots, peeled and diced

2 to 3 cloves of garlic, chopped

1 package dried split peas

olive oil

8 cups of water

approx. 1/4 c sherry

Heat a couple of tablespoons of olive oil in the bottom of a soup pot.  When hot, add the onion and carrot and saute.  Add the garlic and stir so everything is coated with the oil.  Add a little water, cover and turn the heat to medium low, and let the veggies cook for 10 – 15 mins.

After the onions and carrots have softened, add the peas and stir in.  Let cook in the pot for about 5 mins, stirring often.

Place the ham bone in the pot.  Add the rest of the water.  Bring to a boil, turn down the heat and cover.  Cook for 30 mins to an hour, until the ham is falling off the bone and the peas are done.  Remove bone, cut off the meat and return the meat to the pot. Allow to simmer for another 10 mins.

Add the sherry and serve.  The ham is well seasoned enough so that you don’t really need any additional seasoning unless you want some “bite” then you can add some Tobasco or similar hot sauce.  The sherry adds a little bit of sweetness.

Serve in soup mugs with a dollop of creme fraiche.

It’ll warm the cockles of your little hearts!


2 thoughts on “And Now…

  1. Sounds delicious! I believe that the gf is planning on making a ham for the x-mas dinner, so I’ll save this for afterwards.

    I have made chicken soup a couple of times this fall and it is so damned good! That and beef stew are at the top of my short list of things I can make that turn out well.

  2. I’ve always wondered what a cockle is: Any of various bivalve mollusks of the family Cardiidae, having rounded or heart-shaped shells with radiating ribs.

    Are they better warm?

    Soup sounds delicious. I’ll get JimJim on it for the holidays.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

