Well…

First of all, thank you for the kind comments about my challenge to myself about losing weight.  G and I are both serious about this, so since this is the first time I’ve ever been in a relationship where I could actually talk about my feelings around my weight, I hope this will encourage both of us to just get over that hurdle and do what we need to do.

I finally found a free, online calorie counter that is simple and allows you to put in just food items in addition to brand names, etc.  I’ve heard that a good rule for calorie amounts is to multiply the weight you WANT to be at by 10 and eat that number of calories per day.  So far, I’ve managed to stay in the range of 1700 to 2000 which is my target, and I feel pretty good about what I’m eating, so that’s good.

One of the good things is that knowing you’ll be logging something you’re about to put in your mouth later really helps you think twice about eating it!

I’m also sore.  I have been riding the bike about every other day between 20 and 25 mins at a good clip.  I’ve found a really good 10-15 minute morning yoga warm up that includes some meditation and I really like that.  It has some good poses for working the core, which I’m going to have to do if I want to lose my upper (waist) belly.  I’ve also been using my hand weights and doing the Wii.  I do like it, and I think it will be well worth the expense.  We had hoped to put it in the basement, but the TV down there is too old to be compatible with it, so we will just have it upstairs in the newly-rearranged living room until we can splash out for a more compatible TV.

On the work front, I’ve been promoted!  I had been having a couple of IM conversations with a new team leader and today she contacted me and asked me if I wanted to be a QA editor.  The up side is that it pays HOURLY instead of by line and the rate is a little more than what I started at as a paralegal. And I get to work the same shift. The down side is that, as feared, ALL the actual transcription is going to be shipped off overseas.  SIGH.  However, another up side is that this has once again piqued my interest in getting certified as an ESL instructor.  My new supervisor is about to head to India for 6 weeks to do training in that for the new transcriptionists, I suppose.  India isn’t my first choice, but if I was getting PAID to go, I’d be happy to travel there.

I’m supposed to start training in the morning, and this whole turn of events just has me rather stunned.  I kept trying to figure out what to do when my pay dropped so drastically due to “speech” mode, and I did look at a few other jobs, but finally I just had this strong feeling that I should simply keep doing the best job I could do where I was right at the moment and just wait and see.  And things seem to have worked out.  A while back, I wrote that I just wanted to be able to work from home in a job I liked and make a living wage.  At the time, I had 2 out of 3, and now it looks like I’m about to get the 3rd one!  Maybe sometimes hard work does pay off!

GG

2 thoughts on “Well…

  1. Wow! So much hopeful news for you. I won’t wish you good luck on the weight loss thing – that’s not luck, that’s determination. Hang in there and inspire us!

    India! I’d go in a heartbeat. My grandfather was stationed there in WWII and I’ve always been India-curious. Such a fascinating ancient culture – and the biggest democracy in the world. If you don’t want to go, I’ll take your place.

    Glad to hear good news for you on the job front, my promotion seems to be going well, so far, too. I just wish the raise would happen soon.

Leave a Reply

