Springin’

I’ve been off for 4 days, so I’m reaching the point of not knowing what to do with myself.  No worries, as I head back to work in the morning.  The reason for this is that I agreed to change my schedule so that I will now have Tuesdays and Wednesdays off going forward.  Since this occurred on Monday afternoon after I had already had my former regular 2 days off, the powers that be said, take the next 2 days off and start the new schedule on Thursday. While that means I’ll have an extra 2 days without pay this week, I can’t say I was sad at having a mini-vacation!  Spent yesterday in Denver with G, as she had another follow up for her knee, and this time she got a REAL doc, who brought in another REAL doc, and they agreed that she should not be having the pain that she is having in just this 1 spot on her knee.  They think there MIGHT be a bone spur or something like that.  I guess x-rays, etc. will tell.  Now that she has metal implants in her body, further MRIs are no longer possible.

Today was unexpectedly spring like!  It was so nice, in fact, that I sat out on the driveway in shorts, getting some sun on my lily whites and actually got a sunburn on my shins and knees because I was out for longer than 15 minutes.  That’s my limit for unprotected sun exposure and I exceeded it. It’s not too bad, but definitely pink.  It’ll be better in the morning.

I took the dog for a long walk today, partly to buy half and half for my coffee and partly just to walk since it was so nice.  There’s a new park/wetland area being put in just about half a mile from the house, so we’ve been walking down there from time to time to check on the progress. The first convenience store I went in no longer stocked half and half, so I had to trek to the second one, adding probably a mile onto my walk.  The morning was so pretty I didn’t mind, and neither did Peaches.

On the down side, we have discovered peach borers:

in our peach trees.  The above is not one of our trees; we found ours at the base, just a couple of inches under the dirt.  G was clearing away the mulch around the tree trunks and found them.  Unfortunately, we are going to have to spray the peach, cherry, and plum trees because this pest invades all of them.  I’d like to say we could wait long enough to import parasitic wasps for natural control, but these critters were already actively boring into the tree when we found them.  I really don’t want to lose those trees.

Other than that, I haven’t done much.  I did jump on and work for a bit Monday because things were crazy.  That’s why they wanted to change my schedule; weekends used to be a bit slower but they have been getting crazier and crazier as everyone seems to dump the dictation on Friday and then it’s hell keeping up with the turnaround time.  You know how it goes–it’s way easier to KEEP up than CATCH up.  We’ll see how it goes.  Did some reading, did some cooking, etc.

Had the windows open today, we ate lunch outside in the medicine wheel garden, and I had to chase honeybees out of the house already!  We did that all summer long last year.  I seem to attract honeybees whenever I am outside; today I could understand it because I was wearing a turquoise shirt and was the only bit of color in the yard, as everything is still various shades of brown, buff and gray.  But really, honeybees?  Still, I could attract worse things, right?

Tonight we are off to a workshop and then bright and early I’ll be back at it. I’m still doing my food logs and doing well on not eating at night other than perhaps a piece of fruit or some yogurt.  I watched Alton’s Brown’s “Good Eats” last night in which he described how he lost 50 pounds eating “nutrient-dense” foods vs. “energy-dense” ones.  It was an interesting program.  I might check out his book anyway for more tips and recipes.

I had to slow down on some of the exercises as my knees were really hurting but I think part of that was 1) using different muscles and 2) not having supportive shoes.  I’ll get back to those, though, because I think they will make a big difference over time.  Walking is still my favorite though.  And I added some kickin’ music to the MP3 player for time on the bike.  Hopefully, I’ll be getting back on the road soon–no music then, though, don’t want the distraction.

I know a lot of you are still fighting the winter blahs, and ugly weather, but don’t despair.  Regardless of how cold it might seem now, spring really IS on the way!

GG

Leave a Reply

