Kinder and Gentler

After venting a little bit of my spleen at the arrogance of rude politicians (is that redundant?) in the last post, I thought it best to get back to my normal state of benign grumpiness and focus on the challenge at hand–the yoga/writing challenge, that is.  I’m here fresh off the mat tonight, and the nights that I haven’t been writing here, I’m working on a new fiction piece that I have no idea where it’s going, but the journey is pretty fun so far.  It’s highly biographical except the main character is male.  How’s that for a twist? As I said, fun trip.

I am probably one of the few people on earth with access to the internet and television who isn’t keeping up with every moment of the current Gulf crisis.  I can’t do it.  It’s not that I don’t care; I probably care too much and I know that sitting by CNN and letting all that virtual gunk wash over me would be as psychically damaging to my soul as the real stuff is to bird feathers.  Perhaps it’s cowardly; I call it self preservation.

However, the other day, I got an e-mail from a friend.  I’m not sure if any of you are familiar with Masaru Emoto and his book “Messages From Water”. If not, do a search for some quick information. Basically, his studies have been on the effects of negative and positive words and thoughts (prayers or curses if you will) on the crystal formation of water as it freezes.

This email was a forward from another friend, so I am not exactly sure where it originated, but after I read it, I realized that it was something I could do.  Here is part of it:

“…many of you will recognize (him) as the scientist from Japan who has done all the research and publications about the characteristics of water.  Among other things, his research reveals that water physically responds to emotions.  Right now, most of us have the predominantly angry emotion when we consider what is happening in the Gulf.  And while certainly we are justified in that emotion, we may be of greater assistance to our planet and its life forms, if we sincerely, powerfully and humbly pray the prayer that Dr Emoto, himself, has proposed…”

This completely resonated with me.  Of course, it’s natural to feel angry about what’s happening in the Gulf–who wouldn’t?  But anger over the long term really doesn’t accomplish much unless you happen to be in the actual vicinity and can turn that anger into some kind of positive action.  Must of us will just sit and stew in our own juices, raging at corporate callousness and our own inability to live without oil since pretty much everything we touch these days was once oil in some form or another.  It ain’t just about the gas in the car.

So, I thought, I could send prayers to the water.  I could do that.  I have no idea if water really does respond to the energy of thoughts or words, but it certainly couldn’t make anything WORSE, and if there’s a chance that it would make it better–why not?  Plus, it would help me get back into a mode of spirituality that I’ve been missing recently, so a total win-win.

Here is the prayer:

“I send the energy of love and gratitude to the water and all the living creatures in the Gulf of Mexico and its surroundings.

To the whales, dolphins, pelicans, fish, shellfish, plankton, coral, algae, and all living creatures  . . .  I am sorry.

Please forgive me.
Thank you.
I love you. “

The simple truth and power of these words stunned me.  I thought, if only 1% of all the people in this country would stand outside in the morning, as the sun comes up, face towards the Gulf and direct that prayer in that direction, how could something NOT happen?  Wasn’t every single thing that is currently in existence an IDEA first?  Even the Bible says, “In the beginning, there was the WORD.”  If we are truly source energy in physical bodies, which I strongly believe, then OUR words and OUR energy directed not towards anger and “payback” but towards love and healing simply have to make a difference.

The e-mail further said, “We are not powerless.  We are powerful.  Our united energy, speaking this prayer daily…multiple times daily….can literally shift the balance of destruction that is happening.”

Again, I believe this.  If athletes can envision crossing the finish line ahead of everyone and then go out and win a race, why can’t we all visualize a healed Gulf and have it happen? Who’s to say that it can’t?

I have been saying this prayer every morning for the last week.  I’ve also passed along the email to other friends around the country and some have responded that they will be doing the same.  I have no idea if it’s helping the Gulf, but I know that standing in my back yard, watching the sun come up, burning a little sage, opening my heart to the world and its healing makes ME better.  And if all of US felt better, then healing of the rest would have to follow, wouldn’t it?

What about you?  Will you join this prayer?

GG

5 thoughts on “Kinder and Gentler

  1. Thanks so much for sharing this – I have sent it along to a friend who is particularly concerned about the Gulf crisis.

  2. I’ll do it. And, I’ll post it to my FB page ~ I’m betting that all of my woowoo friends (and they are legion!) will join as well. Can’t hurt, right? Might even help!

  3. reading, praying, bringing it to witchcamp this weekend and posting it on facebook. So beautiful and so positive. I don’t feel so helpless anymore.

Leave a Reply

