A Remembrance, A Recommendation and A Ritual

Happy 4th of July to all readers and all Americans out there.  I guess my “celebration” will be slightly different from many folks because I’m working today and also because yesterday was the 20th anniversary of my father’s passing.  I did a pretty extensive memorial piece about him last year, so I won’t repeat that, only to say that I can’t figure out just HOW 20 years has managed to go by since then. It just doesn’t seem possible. So, on this rather quiet work day, and over the last few days, I’ve just been remembering him, looking at some photos and every now and then just having a small chuckle at funny family things or his little personal quirks.  It’s good to remember.

Recently, I’ve made a new friend in the blogosphere. Go check out her place, I know you’ll love her as much as I do.  How can you not love another late in life lezzy with a bent towards being a Trekkie?  Yeah, I know, I’ve never written about my Trek obsession since 4th grade.  Later.  Anyway, yesterday, she recommended the movie, “Hanna Free” with Sharon, “Are you SURE you’re not a lesbian” Gless who does a fabulous job as a free-spirited butch who has loved a “straight” home-body for over 40 years.  The film is poignant and pointed and it will make you rail about the sheer stupidity of our times.  Go, watch it. Then come back and tell me what you thought.

And finally, because it is the 4th of July, and because I can, I am going to participate in my own personal Independence Day ritual:  I will watch the musical 1776, about the signing of the Declaration, for the umpteenth time.  Umpteen is a very large number, almost bigger than a gazillion.  I first encountered this musical when I was in high school before the bicentennial.  It was the first show I ever designed sets and costumes for in my first ever drama class.  I would say that show is single-handed-ly responsible for my majoring in theater in college.  And the movie hadn’t even come out yet.  So, I will watch and pay homage to Mr. John Adams, whose brilliant biography by David McCullough I read this year.  We all praise Washington and Jefferson, but really, without the constant goading of Mr. Adams, we really would never have had a Untied States of America.  Thank you, John, for never sitting down.  I leave you with a wee preview:

Wishing you all a wonderful and meaningful Fourth!

GG

3 thoughts on “A Remembrance, A Recommendation and A Ritual

  1. Hey GG, thanks so much for the shout-out!! Much appreciated. I love musicals too!! 1776 – you gotta be a real musical theatre geek to get that one – good on ya.

    Just so we’re all clear here, then, you came out as a lesbian BEFORE you came out as a Trekkie? Haha

  2. Hahahaha!!! No, I was a Trekkie first…WAY before. Went to my first Trek convention in college–with a girl who MIGHT have been my first had things gone just slightly differently….Hmmm, there’s a blog post in there somewhere….;-)

Leave a Reply

