Speaking Of Eggplant…

G picked the above off ONE plant a couple of days ago.  We have FOUR plants.  I’ve found recipes in “Olive and Caper”, “Jacques and Julia Cooking At Home” and “A Mediterranean Feast”.  If anyone has any special eggplant recipes they’d like to share (especially those without tomatoes), I’d love to have them!  Aren’t they just beautiful?  And you should feel them…the weight, the warmth.  You just can’t buy an eggplant like that in a store.

Off to t’ai chi…

GG

8 thoughts on “Speaking Of Eggplant…

  1. my favourite veggie!
    1. cut once across the length, and then slice across (so you get pretty little crescents. dip into a thin batter made with chickpea flour, water, minced chillies, minced onions and deep fry.
    2. roast till soft, peel off the skin and mash. stir in yogurt, diced onions and any herbs you like. A dash of salt and mustard.
    3. saute chopped garlic, ginger and onions till a pale yellow. Add a dash each of turmeric, cumin, corriander and cinnamon powders. Add finely chopped chilies and plenty of cilantro. add the flesh of a roasted brinjal and stir.
    and there are lots more!

  2. OMG! They are spectacular! We had a bumper crop a couple of years ago. We ended up gourging on deep fried one weekend when my sister and her husband came for a visit. The last two years have been bad for eggplant.

    One of the first dishes that I ever prepared for Cheryl was Moussaka, a Greek eggplant dish. Think of it as eggplant lasagna, in cheese custard layers. We don’t make it any more because of the high fat, but we still talk about it.

    I looked up a couple of recipes, even mine. I don’t remember any red sauce because I don’t like it. Maybe I used a little. I’m sure I left out any spices that I didn’t have.

    But here is just one: http://www.premiersystems.com/recipes/moussaka.html

    Be sure and take pictures of whatever you cook!

  3. Wow! Those are spectacular! I’m admiring them from purely a gardener’s perspective… in other words, I’ve got nothing in the recipe file for eggplant.

    I eat eggplant occasionally, but mostly I just admire it’s beauty. I dunno, they look poisonous to me, even though I know they’re not!

  4. Okey, dokey, Granny. I’ve searched the eggy archives and came up with this list of links that, for the most part, do not include tomatoes. If this is too long to fit in a comment, I’ll be happy to email them to you (or maybe I should just post on my own blog – hehehehehe).

    Best Eggplants Ever – This Madhur Jaffrey does call for some canned tomatoes in the tomato-chickpea sauce, but maybe the yogurt and Indian spices will inspire you to figure out an adaptation.

    http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/mario-batali/the-best-eggplants-ever-recipe/index.html

    Spicy Grilled Eggplant with Red Pepper and Parsley – From blogger Kaylin of Kaylin’s Kitchen – also includes links to a bunch more eggplant recipes

    http://kalynskitchen.blogspot.com/2007/08/spicy-grilled-eggplant-recipe-with-red.html

    Grilled Eggplant with Garlic Sauce and Mint – Bobby Flay goes a little Asian with this one.

    http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/bobby-flay/grilled-eggplant-with-garlic-sauce-and-mint-recipe/index.html

    Grilled Eggplant and Goat Cheese Salad – Personally, I’m a sucker for anything with goat cheese and pine nuts.

    http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/giada-de-laurentiis/grilled-eggplant-and-goat-cheese-salad-recipe/index.html

    Grilled Eggplant Wraps with Lemon Aioli, Feta, and Mint – The title of this Sara Moulton recipe pretty much says it all.

    http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/sara-moulton/grilled-eggplant-wraps-with-lemon-aioli-feta-and-mint-recipe/index.html

    Herbed Broiled Eggplant with Capers and Olives – The eggplant in this Batali recipe get an interesting stuffing treatment (and I’m all about capers and olives).

    http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/mario-batali/herbed-broiled-eggplant-with-capers-and-olives-melanzane-alla-griglia-recipe/index.html

    Eggplant Salad: Shlada De-al Bedenjan – This Moroccan recipe intrigues me, although it does include tomatoes.

    http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/saras-secrets/eggplant-salad-shlada-de-al-bedenjan-recipe/index.html

    Finally, because I just can’t get enough pickles: Nonna’s Pickled Eggplant

    http://flavorsofitaly.blogspot.com/2009/07/nonnas-pickled-eggplant-melanzane.html

    Pasta Shells with Roasted Vegetables – The artichoke hearts in this one piqued my interest.

    http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/robin-miller/pasta-shells-with-roasted-vegetables-recipe/index.html

    If you try any of them, please let me know what you think!
    eggy

  5. Oh, my goodness, Eggy, what a wealth of things to try, thank you so much!

    No, I didn’t know that there was actually going to be a monetary prize for the smackdown, how cool is THAT? I was having a bit of trouble deciding what to make for this, but now I have narrowed it down to 2 very different sandwiches, and hope they will at least get some attention if not the win! And at least I’ll get to eat the fruits of my labor, right??

    Take care,
    GG

  6. Chicu – “Brinjal” is egglant in Hindi? I like to know these things, you know.

    The fried “crescents” sound lovely, thank you!

    GG

  7. ‘Baingan’ is eggplant in hindi.

    Brinjal is what we Asians call it (derived from the Portuguese, perhaps?)

    the fried crescents are nice..esp with tea!

Leave a Reply

