I Do Not Want a Bleak and Dreary Life

It never fails, no matter how rotten of a mood I might be in, how whiny and moan-y I can get inside my own head, every day I get the Abraham-Hicks daily quote in my e-mail and it always amazes me with words that cut right to the heart of my annoying mental faux angst and puts me right in a place of appreciation, hope, acceptance and joy. Every time. This morning’s quote is below.  I seriously think I should get every word of it tattooed somewhere on my body where I can glance at it every day and be reminded of EXACTLY how I want to live my life:

“We would like you to reach the place where you’re not willing to listen to people criticize one another… where you take no satisfaction from somebody being wrong… where it matters to you so much that you feel good, that you are only willing to think positive things about people…you are only willing to look for positive aspects; you are only willing to look for solutions, and you are not willing to beat the drum of all of the problems of the world.” –Abraham

“Not willing to beat the drum of all the problems of the world.” Whew! How freaking powerful is THAT.  What do we do all day long? Beat those damn problem drums.  Pound, pound, pound: “The Republicans are ‘winning’.” Pound, pound, pound: “I don’t have enough alone time.” Pound, pound, pound: “We’re losing the oceans!” Pound, pound, pound: “The middle class is disappearing!” Pound, pound, pound: “And so on…”

How utterly dreary. Just dreary and bleak. I do not want a bleak and dreary life.  I want a life of joy and blessings and hope. That is the drum I want to beat.  Of course I’m not perfect. Of course, there will be times when my emotions turn to the negative. But that’s when I most need to pay attention.  What is my “negative” emotion telling me? How do I then turn and find the positive emotion, the feeling good, the uplifting that will get me back on track? Well, it is by NOT criticizing, NOT trying to find things wrong, NOT doing all those things that we get told to do by “pundits” etc.  I DO want to think positive things about people, even the worst people.  I DO want to think that if “problems” were approached in the right way, they would cease to be problems. I DO believe that if each person in the world read those words and attempted to reach for the goals they aspire for just one day, even one minute out of one day, every day, that the entire world would change drastically for the better.

Will you try it?  Will you quit criticizing politicians, corporations, circumstances, relatives, the weather with me? Just one minute each day.  Think something positive about every person who comes into your thoughts–just one minute each day.  Look for solutions instead of nay saying for just one minute.  Don’t beat those problem drums.  For one minute today, tomorrow, the next day and all the next days, just do it.

Let’s change the world, shall we?

One thought on “I Do Not Want a Bleak and Dreary Life

Leave a Reply

