Goals

November is going to be a busy month.  I have committed to NANOWRIMO again, as you can see from the badge to the left and the text updates to the right. I still have my monthly OBG piece, and I’ve become part of an online writers’ group, thanks to a reconnection with a classmate and now new friend, so trying to write something for that each week.  Plus, I still want to blog now and then, so you all won’t up and leave me here, pouring out my heart to an empty universe! 😉

I’ve also set myself a physical goal–I want to walk or bike 90 miles this month. That’s an average of 3 miles a day, every day, in November.  So far, I’m between 7 and 8 miles total for the first two days of this month, so I don’t feel too bad. We’ll see how many miles I walk on Thursday when I have another session scheduled with the amazing Grace!

If you’re reading this, encourage me, please. I want to keep active, and I need to write. The two are not mutually exclusive; while I was walking my 3 miles today, and envisioned the ending of my NANOWRIMO novel and, quite honestly, it is perfect and poetic.

Walking helps writing.

“Now good digestion wait on appetite and health on both.” More on that later.

Oh, and I voted this morning. And then I went and got St@rbuck’s coffee and pastries for the poll workers.  Today was also Day of the Dead, and my mom used to be a poll judge in GA for years, and so by getting them coffee I was honoring her.  It was just the right thing to do, so I did it.

9 thoughts on “Goals

  1. I voted too.

    There’s a lot of that “get healthy, get creative” energy swirling around me these days. I’d like to come up with a new way of getting my body moving… inspiration has not yet struck, and five years of walking around the block just pretty much fizzled several months ago. Something will come up.

    You better keep writing here, GG!!!!!

  2. If I may, I need to preface this with: I am not currently biking outdoors. However, when I did, I really enjoyed Bikejournal.com. http://www.bikejournal.com/profiles.asp?rname=Peg Please visit my profile? I enjoyed the people in the forums. Even made an internet friend, who is also gay.

    I’m using the Spinner, either at the gym or in the bsmt, or the elliptical at the gym. After 3 hip surgeries walking is totally out of the question for exercise. I shoot for 30 minutes, 5 times per week, as recommended in cardiac rehab several years ago. But, I prefer the weight training and look at it as a reward when I’ve finished the cardio.

    Fitness is never static. You are either becoming more fit, or less fit. While at first glance 3 miles per day might seem to be a modest goal, I really must salute you for having a plan. Everyday life has such a way of interfering. I’ll be following your progress and cheering you on.

    Best regards!

  3. Go GG!! You can do it!

    I agree with you that walking or biking helps the creative process. Another thing that helps is simply making yourself do it. So, yes, setting a goal and sticking to it, is how to get it done.
    Another great way to get walking is by taking your dog out. They love it!

    I’m with you in spirit!

  4. Thank you all! 😉

    Peg, thanks for the link to your bike journal, cool site! I have a bike trainer that I set the bike up on in the garage when it gets too cold to ride outside. I did a lot of time on it last year, listening to The Traveling Wilburys! This year, I think it will be Lady Gaga who keeps me company, but as long as I’m peddling I guess it doesn’t matter.

    4-mile walk this morning and more work on the NANO. The tough part will be fitting it all in along with work, but I will manage.

    e–the dog would love to go with me, and sometimes I take her, but I do better thinking when I’m alone. However, walking is also a good way for all three of us to get out and have fun, so either way it’s a win/win.

    Tomorrow–appointment with Grace…yay!

  5. You go girl! As incentive for you to reach your goals, know I will be using you as inspiration to get off my butt and exercise more and visiting your blog regularly to see how you are progressing. This past week was my mid-terms and during my study breaks, I took a few brisk walks and let my mind wander to other things and it really does get the imaginative juices flowing. Good luck with all your projects.

  6. busy month! and I love the concrete goals you’ve set up.
    incidentally, I am on the get fit plan as well..want to trek to a glacier in March and need to be able to look around and appreciate the scenery while I walk. Are you giving yourself incentive to walk too?

  7. Chicu, my incentive is staying out of the doctor’s office and being able to trek and travel for as long as I can. At some point I want to go back to Spain and finish the other half of my pilgrimage that I had to cut short due to foot pain. Plus, believe it or not, I really do like to exercise!

  8. At Bike Journal there are whole groups of people who get together w/trainers inside. They ride to DVD’s. In fact, I think they’re in Colorado. I always enjoyed the pictures and stories that they posted. I’ve never used a trainer. I should look into it.

  9. I really like the trainer. I rode a lot last winter–I actually surprised myself. Would go out for 20-30 minutes in the middle of the day. I kept the trainer in the garage because I prefer it a bit chilly. You can increase the resistance and use the gears on the bike, too. I highly recommend them.

Leave a Reply

