30 DOTB – Day 25 – Why I Believe I’m Still Alive

Ummm…because I haven’t been hit by a truck yet?

I can’t really answer that question.  I’m not sure I’ve ever felt I have a “higher calling” or some particular mission that my life is focused on. I know I definitely value experiences over things, so I’m always looking forward to new ones.  I believe that I was blessed with a pretty good helping of common sense so even when I do things that other people might think are off the wall, I usually have a good plan and an idea of how to handle myself if things go awry.

I think that people, each one of us, have the power to touch other people. Whether it’s through a blog, or at work, or someone you meet while waiting in line in the grocery store; every time you speak to someone there is a chance that a connection could be made that might change a life–yours or the person’s you are interacting with.  I want to be open to that. I want to hear what people have to say, even if it goes against what I believe.  I want to find out the whys of things, how the other person came to hold the beliefs they have.

So, maybe that’s why I’m still here.  Maybe one person at a time, I can connect and listen and understand. And perhaps, each time I do that, a ripple effect will start and more people will listen and understand and not just react in typical, fearful, knee-jerk kinds of ways.

All in all, it’s not a bad reason to stick around.

Happy New Year!

GG

2 thoughts on “30 DOTB – Day 25 – Why I Believe I’m Still Alive

Leave a Reply

