The First Thing I Ever…

…learned how to cook was my mother’s sloppy Joe recipe. I must have been in the single digits.  It was the first thing I taught my daughter how to cook, and now the boys clamor for it whenever they come over.  It’s an odd little recipe, sort of counter-intuitive for what we think of today as “sloppy Joes” but I love it.  For me, it is comfort food of the first order and sometimes G will look at me and say, “You know, we haven’t had those sloppy Joes and potatoes in a while…” and off I’ll go.  I always serve them with mustard-roasted potatoes, which can’t help but elevate anything served with them, right?  Anyway, I know by now you are dying for the recipe, so here it is. As I said, it may sound a little odd, but trust me, especially if you have kids–this will be a big hit. All condiment measurements are to taste.

1 to 1-1/2 pounds of hamburger

1 medium onion, diced fine

1 Tbl. flour

1 to 2 Tbl. ketchup

1 to 2 Tbl. yellow mustard

1 can C@mpbell’s Chicken Gumb0 S0up (yes, really)

Sautee the onion in a bit of olive oil until transparent.  Add the hamburger and brown until done. Drain off as much grease as possible, tilting the pan and using a spoon.  Spread the meat/onion mixture back in the pan. Sprinkle the flour over and stir to mix.  Add the mustard and ketchup. Once well mixed, pour over the can of soup. Do NOT add any water.  Mix well and allow to cook on low heat for maybe 5 to 10 minutes. Serve on buns or open face on a piece of bread with the aforementioned roasted potatoes or tater tots (yay, tater tots!).

Junk food bliss in your own kitchen!

Trust me on this, I would NOT lead you wrong.

Happy eating!


4 thoughts on “The First Thing I Ever…

  1. Now you KNOW I am going to make this! lol So far I’ve made every recipe you’ve ever put on here and loved them all. Especially that Fall stew stuff. lol Thank you. :~)

Leave a Reply

