GG’s Famous BB

The other day, the boys were over and GS1 noticed that there were some bananas in our fruit basket that were getting a bit dark.  Would I make him some banana bread? he begged.  How could I say no?  I told him the bananas weren’t quite ready for bread yet, but when they were, I’d make him a loaf.  Since G can’t eat many baked goods any  more, and anything with baking powder seems to be the worst, it’s good I can give stuff away.

GS2 has loved my banana bread for years. In fact, a couple of years ago, I went to his grandparents’ day thingie at school and he had drawn a picture that showed a couple of figures around something kind of yellow and rectangular. I couldn’t for the life of me figure it out, and then he said, “Remember that day when you made the banana bread in your mixer?” The rectangular things was the banana bread. That had been maybe a year before that!  So funny the things that kids remember. And I rarely use the stand mixer for banana bread, but I was showing them how it worked that day, and they got to help me put all the ingredients in while the mixer churned it all into batter.

The recipe started with one from an old cookbook that I’ve had for years, but as time passed and I made banana bread over and over, I modified it to make it my own.  The result is a quick bread that is yummy and moist (I HATE “blah” banana bread) with good flavor and texture.  It’s great warm, room temp or toasted under the broiler with butter.  The trick is to use bananas that are nearly black for the best banana flavor.  Feel free to modify as desired and make this your own!

Grumpy’s Banana Bread

1-1/2 cups flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 cup rolled oats

1/2 cup butter
3/4 cup brown sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 mashed bananas
1/2 cup whole-berry cranberry sauce OR 1/2 cup dried cranberries
2 eggs, beaten
1/2 cup chopped walnuts

Sift flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon together in a bowl. Add the rolled oats and mix.

In another bowl, cream the butter and sugar.  Add vanilla, eggs, bananas, cranberry sauce or cranberries and nuts.  Gradually stir in the dry ingredients.  Stir until just mixed.  Pour into a well-greased loaf pain. Bake at 350 degrees for approximately an hour or until tested done.

Enjoy as much as GS2 did!


2 thoughts on “GG’s Famous BB

  1. Wow. How did you know that I have a couple of over ripe bananas and was about to search for a banana bread recipe? Amazing timing, GG! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

