Practice

While we were in Denver yesterday, we stopped at The Tattered Cover bookstore, of course, one of my favorite places. G got a copy of a magazine called “Spirituality & Health” and on the last page there was an exercise.  It was reprinted by the author from a book called “Mastering Creative Anxiety: 24 Lessons for Writers, Painters & Musicians from America’s Foremost Creativity Coach”.  I won’t go in to the details of the description, I’m just going to do the exercise, which is associated with breath. Warning–some of my responses may seem diametrically opposed to each other, but that’s life in my world.  Right now:

I am completely–unmotivated.

I expect–the worst.

I am–myself.

I trust–the Universe.

I feel–stuck.

I embrace–irony.

I am free–to screw up.

I make–no sense.

I am open–to inspiration.

I am equal–to anyone.

I am taking–no prisoners.

I return–tomorrow.

6 thoughts on “Practice

  1. I’m pretty sure that my life is better because of you and your writing. Some small piece of me changed because of something you wrote, or did. I don’t understand it. I know that writing comes from different places, some, not so pleasant. I hope you will be able to make something of this time and hurry back to your center of gratitude, where I sense you are most at home.

  2. anon and e–your comments move me more than I can say. Thank you for reading and being “out there”.

    Much love.

Leave a Reply

