How It Is

Leap of Faith

I watch her from the window.
Pushing flour, I make dough.
Pushing compost, she makes dirt.
With bread and gardens, we feed each other.

I never loved before

Her

I played at love,
even married love, I thought.

But there was always a back door,
an escape hatch, hidden in my heart.
With instinctive knowing, I gave myself an out.

Then, her, soul’s twin, heart’s mirror.
She closed all exits.

Captured, but no longer trapped,
I flung myself over the cliff for love,
no wings to soar, no parachute to open.

Just her loving arms to catch and hold me,
Warm and safe forever.

6 thoughts on “How It Is

Leave a Reply

