Thwarted, But With Good Results

Yesterday and the day before, I did my best to get out to the reservoir to swim after work, only to be thwarted by afternoon summer thunderstorms with lots of wind and lightening.  Not conducive to being in a large body of water.  On Thursday, we got out there; well, we got to friend Peggy’s house because she wanted to go watch me swim.  Large bolts of lightening in the direction of the reservoir changed our minds in a hurry, so we went out to dinner at a new Vietnamese place instead. Peggy is having a tough time recovering from a hip replacement so that saved her from cabin fever at least.

Yesterday, I tried again. I watched the sunny, hot weather out of my window all day.  Then, when I got upstairs after work, clouds were rolling in. I called Peg and she said they had just had some rain, but it was bright and sunny now.  Then the bottom fell out over our house, wind, even a tiny bit of hail, more thunder and lightening and I decided better safe than stupid.  So, instead of swimming I decided on my other favorite pastime (no, not THAT), cooking. 

I’ve been craving cold sesame noodles lately, but haven’t found a recipe for the sauce that really does it for me.  Thanks to Sarah, a wonderful, creative cook and new mom, who sadly, no longer blogs, I had a recipe I wanted to try.  As usual, I first gathered the ingredients for the sauce:

I had to make a couple of substitutions.  I didn’t have any sirracha, so I used the hot chile oil and I didn’t have any chile paste, so I used the sweet/hot sauce on the far right.  It all SO worked.  The amounts: 1/2 C of peanut butter, juice of 2 limes, 2 Tbl brown sugar and 1/4 C each of sesame oil, rice vinegar, and soy sauce.  I used 1 Tbl of the chile oil, and 1 Tbl of the sweet/hot sauce. Gather all the ingredients, then put on a pot of water to boil for the noodles (I used linguine fini, but you can use whatever kind you like).

While the water is getting ready, prepare the veggies. The beauty of this dish is that you can use whatever you have in the fridge:

This was 1/2 of a napa cabbage, 2 large carrots, 2 onions from the garden (scallions, but they got about the size of ping-pong balls), 1/2 a package of snow peas, julienned, and 5 or 6 small, sweet red, orange and yellow peppers, along with about 1 to 2 Tbls of grated fresh ginger. I also added some cilantro and Thai basil from the garden.  If you don’t have that, get creative.  Radishes, regular cabbage, broccoli, snap peas, whatever.  You know what you like.

Next, cook the noodles according to directions then drain.  In the warm pot, whisk all the above ingredients to make the sauce.  Remember this is for 1 lb of pasta, so it’s not too much.  Add back the pasta, pile on the veggies and stir well to coat everything.  The result is bliss:

I could NOT stop eating this!  The flavor was perfect–exactly what I had been wanting. Thankfully, there’s a huge amount left over for lunch today.  I kicked back with a tall glass of iced coffee, watched Queen Latifah in “Last Holiday” and ended the whole thing with a handful of cocoa roasted almond.  Yes, I said that. Cocoa. Roasted. Almonds. OMG!

And I did my 10 miles on the bike this morning.  Happy summer cooking!

3 thoughts on “Thwarted, But With Good Results

Leave a Reply

