It Doesn’t Take Much…

…to make me happy:

See that shelf?  See those things on it?  For NINE YEARS those things (except for the mandoline which is new) have lurked in the bottom of the cabinets across the room where sometimes I literally had to get down on my hands and knees to reach them because according to G, NOTHING CAN BE SEEN in the kitchen.  The kitchen is basically my domain because I do about 99.99% of all the cooking and meal planning, yet, I’ve never been able to really arrange it the way I want it.  I don’t think that’s quite fair, do you?  However, being the easygoing person that I usually am, most of the time I just sigh like a Jewish mother left in the dark and get on with it.  But, can I just say how much I HATE rummaging around on my hands and knees trying to wrest that stand mixer out of the cabinet? That damn thing is heavy! And one should not have to stand on one’s head just to find the crock pot!

So, a few weeks ago, in discussion with friends B and M about possibly re-arranging the kitchen, I mentioned that I would really, really like those 4 items (just those), handy and available so I could access them without a battle.  Within a few days, the shelf appeared.  I’ve been so happy in the kitchen since. 

And then, today, Ms. “Nothing Can Be Seen On the Kitchen Counter” G tried to shove the base of the blender on the shelf in front of the food processor!  I was like, NO, only these four items go there.  ‘Cause I’m not having you say how cluttered and “filthy” it looks and hiding everything back in the cabinet.  She just looked at me and shook her head.  But she put the blender somewhere else.

Sometimes, small victories are so sweet.

Leave a Reply

