Battle Bacon is History–And We Have A Winnah!

Battle Bacon has now passed into the annals of culinary blogging  history.  Thanks so much to all who participated, read, drooled and made note of recipes.  Even if you didn’t put up an entry, if you enjoyed the stories and photos, you participated.  Where would food bloggers be without foodies to read our posts?

The first entry I received was from Moi at Bite the Apple.  Her bacon-enhanced Brussels sprouts were made even more enticing by the addition of pesto.  I’m one of those folks who loves Brussels sprouts, and pesto AND bacon, so I was drooling over this one:

Next up was Ms. Stephie at Small Girl Adventures.  She went in a completely different direction and served up some amazingly rich bacon-studded brioche:

I don’t know about you but just thinking of a thick slab of one of my home grown tomatoes on this bread is enough to send me into a tizzy.  Mark down another “must try ASAP” recipe!

The third entry was our own Eggy at Intuitive Eggplant.  She and friend Cindie made three, yes THREE entries involving bacon.  First the dynamic duo made an incredible chop-licking pair of appetizers, rumaki and bacon-wrapped scallops:

I’m seriously dying here for a taste of either one of those.  Then she went a more traditional route with the classic and ever popular BLT:

And with heirloom tomatoes, no less.  Truly a woman after my own heart (and stomach)!

Finally, Mr. Buzzkill joined the fray with his bacon-zucchini pie.  I loved the simplicity of this recipe (no crust, thanks to Bisquick!) and the fact that you could use it the way he did, as a side dish, or make it into a full meal if you wanted to adjust it a bit.  I love flexible recipes!

Needless to say, this was not an easy decision.  I loved the creativity and variety of all the entries.  I seriously could taste all of them as I read through the different blogs.  But in the end as they say, there can be only one.  So, based on my own love of things home made and kneaded, the winner is—drumroll please—Ms. Stephie at Small Girl Adventures for her amazing bacon-studded brioche!!  Congratulations, Small Girl!  You totally deserve this win.  Take yourself over here posthaste and pick up the badge for your site and I know we’re all looking forward to whatever you choose for the next Smackdown ingredient.  I’ve only got 2 weeks till my big swim, so I most likely won’t be participating this month, but I can’t wait to see what everyone else does.

Have fun, and keep on smackin’!!

GG

4 thoughts on “Battle Bacon is History–And We Have A Winnah!

  1. Congrats to Stephie for her tantalizing Bacon-Studded Brioche! And a huge thank you to Granny for hosting this month. Well played by all, and I can’t wait to see what Stephie has in store for us when she hosts the Culinary Smackdown for September!

  2. It was tons o’ fun! I encourage all you readers out there to follow along with the Smackdown as it progresses. Be bold and jump in! Who knows, you could be the next winner!!

    GG

Leave a Reply

