Buckling Down

It’s days now.  Not months nor weeks, but days.  Nervous, yes.  Excited, even more.  Trying not to worry, of course.  There’s so much stuff going on in and around my life right now and I’m trying very hard to focus on keeping up with exercise.  I have a 3-day weekend (today, tomorrow and Wednesday), then I work straight through until we leave for SF next Thursday.  I will have one more swim in the lake (Wednesday), then pool-only workouts until then. We took a road trip to Salida today, so I spent the day in the car.  Cool mornings with the sun coming up later tempt me to stay in bed and snuggle.  I have to keep my focus.

Might try to swim out in the SF bay on Friday before the swim.  I was supposed to have received 2 e-mails from the swim site, but to my knowledge, I haven’t.  I left a voice mail and haven’t heard back.  I’ve printed out my receipt for when I paid for the swim and the releases I signed electronically to take with me.  I haven’t started packing, but I never do that till right before I leave.

G and I rode our bikes 26 miles last Tuesday.  I was amazed.  I thought I was only riding 12 miles on Saturday mornings; turns out it was 20!  G has an odometer on her bike, so I’m going with what it said.  Other stuff intervened since then and I haven’t swum since Wednesday.  Did walk this weekend and that was a shock!  I gave over my 5 mile Saturday walks for the bike rides and it was very different propelling myself OFF wheels or out of water.  I need to walk more, obviously.  Tomorrow morning I’ll swap the ride for a long walk.  Getting my hair buzzed off tomorrow morning and have a massage scheduled Wednesday afternoon after a morning swim.  My chiropractor has helped my shoulder greatly.

I’m ready.  I’m ready.  I’m ready.  I’ll keep telling myself this.

And breathe.

3 thoughts on “Buckling Down

  1. I’m so excited for your Big Swim, and you know I’m rooting for you! Hope you’ll post about your trip to SF – and be able to enjoy some fine meals there. You’ll deserve some hearty eating after all that exercise!

Leave a Reply

