Lemon Love

A little while ago, I posted a photo of my kitchen:

I think I mentioned the lemon tree in the pot there, a gift from G earlier in the spring.  It sat on the back porch all summer, staying protected from the blistering Pueblo sun, but warm and watered.  It got some new growth and seemed to like it there.  As the nights began to turn cooler I brought it inside.  Then, right before we left to go to Vail, this:

My lemon tree has blossoms!!!!!!!!  I can’t tell you how excited I am.  I was almost worried to leave it alone for nearly 3 days, especially since we don’t have any heat in the house yet.  But I gave it some water and a good blast of reiki energy before we left and when we got back today there were even more blossoms!

I hope they’ll open in the next week or so.  Then, I will probably have to do the pollination myself since we don’t have any friendly bees in the house (though they do often try to come in–maybe they were anticipating the presence of the tree), and with good luck and pampering, maybe, just MAYBE, I’ll get a lemon or two.  If that happens, I will just be over the moon.  Imagine, growing lemons in Pueblo.

Send me yummy, warm, lemony thoughts!

🙂

4 thoughts on “Lemon Love

  1. mouth-puckeringly lemony thoughts speeding your way. But my dear, your kitchen is going to be so fragrant and romantic and sexy once the buds open! lovely!

  2. Hallelujah! I am holding the good thought for your lemon tree! You know, they often do very well in pots with bright indirect light. It’s a wonderful thing, to get flowers in Autumn, but not surprising from a citrus.

    You are inspiring me to get my own potted citrus. Maybe two, a lemon and a lime.

    Please keep us updated with the progress!

Leave a Reply

