Playing Feels Better

I stole this from Earth Muffin who stole it from Maria who stole it from…well you get the idea.  And it’s helping me get out of my mope-y, dope-y mood, so it’s all good.

If you could…

1) live anywhere in the world, where would it be?

If I could live anywhere (for a time, not forever) I would live in London.  I love London more than just about any place on earth.  I am not a city person by any means.  I don’t like crowds and I don’t like traffic, but I am so in love with London, none of that matters.  I would live and I would walk and walk and walk and never get tired of it.  I would listen and look and learn and love every person I met.  I would have high tea and shop at Harrod’s (if only for a pair of socks).  I would walk by the Thames and find shade in the shadow of St. Paul’s.  I’ve never had a place affect me the way London has, except when I first set foot on Liberty Point in Pueblo and knew that I was supposed to be here from now on.  But a hiatus in London would be perfect.

2) change anything about your body, what would it be?

Oh my GOD, if I could change one single thing it would be my upper arms.  I HATE them.  Absolutely DESPISE them.  I try not to think about it, because it’s such a strong feeling it borders on nausea, but I do.  They’re huge and fat and flappy, the ultimate bat wing arms and I’ve had them since I was EIGHT YEARS OLD.  So, yes, I’d change those suckers in a heartbeat.

3) go to your perfect job, what would it be?

To a movie set to make movies.

4) change anything about your partner, what would it be?

I would undo the various mental, physical and emotional traumas that have scarred her sexuality in certain ways.  Not that she isn’t sexual; she is, but there are just things that I know I can’t say or do or even suggest.  I pretty much have no limits in that regard and while I can certainly manage just fine within our parameters, to me, it’s just sad to see that important and fulfilling part of someone be so damaged.  It makes me sad and it makes me angry at those who treated such a beautiful person so badly.

5) have dinner with a celebrity, who would you choose?

I would pick two, a man and a woman, and they would be Kevin Spacey and Helen Mirren.  Smart, funny, amazing theatrical and film backgrounds, and oh my God, would I love to sit between them and match wits!

6) be invisible for a week, what would you do?

Stow away on an airplane to London, of course!

7) tell someone the absolute truth what would you say?

“If you really loved me the way you said you did, you should have left everything behind you to be with me.  If you had been willing to take that one chance, everything would have worked out.  You know it would have.  You were and are a coward and I hope it haunts you for the rest of your life.”

8 ) have a talent that you don’t have now, what would it be?

Dancing.  The sad thing is, I know I have the talent, I just don’t have the body to execute it and I didn’t find out I had the talent until it was far too late.  I still have fun on the dance floor, though.

9) see someone who has died just for an hour, just to talk, who would you want to see?

I’d like to spend the hour with my mom so I could introduce her to her two great-grandsons.  She met GS1 when he was 2, but I’d love for her to see them they way they are now.

10) be the opposite sex, who would you want to look like?

Alan Cumming.  I have THE biggest crush on him.  Yes, really.

11) take one thing back that you’ve said to someone, what would it be?

For this one, it’s not taking back something I said, but speaking up and doing something that I should have done and didn’t.  I hurt a friend very deeply by being paralyzed with fear.  I should have been braver.  We made up long ago, but I know I hurt him deeply at the time and I never meant to and would give anything to go back and undo that moment.

12) pick the time of your death, when would you want it to be?

When I’m too old, too tired or too broke to care about waking up one more day, I hope I can lie down, close my eyes and wake up on the other side.

13) pick an actress to play you in the movie of your life, who is closest to what you really look like and could play your personality well?

Kathy Bates.  Hands down.

14) change your name to any other, what would it be?

Igraine.  In fact, I’ve thought about adding that as my middle name since I don’t have one.

And there you have it.  What would YOU do?

3 thoughts on “Playing Feels Better

Leave a Reply

