A Little Holiday Cheer

When we were in Vail last month, we found some really cool Christmas lights the night we arrived (Halloween).  It took us much longer to get there than planned because of a horrible accident on I-70 just west of Denver, that kept us sitting in traffic for the better part of 2 hours.  It was full dark by the time we got there, even though I left work 2 hours early.  So much for that.  Anyway, the hotel was lovely (a Living Social deal–do check them out) and the staff gave us a map and recommended a couple of places to eat.  When we stepped out of the hotel door, we saw these lights across the way and were both drawn to them like moths to a flame.  For lack of a better term, the store and the tree outside were covered in lights that seemed to “drip” down like liquid icicles.  When we got closer, we realized the lights were cylinders or tubes that had a vertical series of LED bulbs that lit in descending order, hence the drip effect.  The tubes were from about 7 to 14 inches and the entire set up around the store was just captivating.  The next day we went back and bought some.  They aren’t cheap, but they’re supposed to last damn near forever, so these things will be part of our holiday lighting set up from now on.  I like them just simple–across the front of the porch with another set of LED static lights at the top.  Enjoy!  Oh, and the photo at the bottom I took from the street looking toward the back with the fireworks setting on the camera.  Not bad for a point and shoot, I thought.

Merry Christmas!

3 thoughts on “A Little Holiday Cheer

  1. Those are incredibly cool lights! I’m going to have to look for some. And, I love that light spiral… I don’t have room for another living tree in my front yard but I had thought I would get something like that… I love your lights!

Leave a Reply

