Vacation Reflections

Two more days. My first honest “vacation” in more years than I care to remember.  I actually vacated without going anywhere.  Despite my anger at not getting the vacation pay I was rightfully owed, I have enjoyed every moment of it.  Not having to get up at a particular time (though I was mostly up at my regular time).  Not having to go anywhere.  Not having to do anything (although G would have loved it if I had wanted to jump into a project or two).  Just down time.  I read a few books, went to a few movies, hung out with friends.  I got my equipment/training materials for the new job.  Training manual is a couple inches thick.  This one uses their own platform for transcribing rather than one that interacts with MS Word.  Should be interesting.  I will have to use IE for my browser and that sucks as I’ve been using Firefox for years.  So I spent parts of the last couple of days taking old software/programs off my computer, downloading the latest version of IE, running malware scans and cleaning up my hard drive.  Now I need to do a back up to my external hard drive and I should be good to go.  Training starts at 8 a.m. my time on Monday.  Train for a few days, get QA’d for a few more and then I’m off.  I’ll really have to watch the pennies until I get up to speed, but there’s also good news on that end, too.

The IRS did NOT take money out of my bank account in January, so I assume I’m done with their debt.  According to the last statement they sent me, this would be about the time frame that I’d be done paying them off.  So that means…I will get an actual tax refund this year!  I did my taxes this week, too.  I got a 1099 from my freelance work, which I haven’t in a few years, and I was able to use a Schedule C to actually claim some expenses.  Wow!  I have 2 particular debts I plan on paying off, so between that and not having money taken from my account for that each month, if I’m not ahead, at least I’ll be breaking even until I can really get going on production.

I’m enjoying the 365 ProjectIt’s a challenge to take a new photo every day and get it uploaded.  I’m starting to look at people, objects, moments in a different light.

I started a couple of new writing projects.  One is or probably is a short story, just a vignette I imagined a while ago.  Now that I started writing it, of course it’s twisting and turning in unimagined ways.  What’s odd is that something happened in the middle of thinking about it the other day and I see the way I SHOULD go with it, but it’s not the way I WANT to go with it.  But there’s a character who’s insisting on being in it, someone I never considered before this week.  I might write it both ways and just see.  The other one is probably going to turn into a novel.  The first chapter is under the “Works in Progress” tab if you want to check it out.  I warn you, though, it’s not for the fainthearted.  Where did that come from, you may ask?  I don’t know.  It’s kind of a “what if” that had been running around in my head; a rather ordinary character finding herself in extraordinary circumstances. 

What I haven’t done much of these 2 weeks is exercise.  I’ve got away from yoga. I walked a few days, rode the bike a few days, stretched a little.  I want to do this triathlon in July, but the running part really has me freaked out.  I know I don’t HAVE to really run, and 5K (3 miles) is literally a walk in the park for me, but for some reason, I have this real approach/avoidance feeling on this one.  So different from my swim, which I embraced wholeheartedly.  If anyone has any insight/advice for me on this, I would greatly appreciate it.

I think I have my dish for Battle Cabbage.  It literally came to me in a dream, something I’ve never seen anywhere before.  It’s a little different, but I think it will turn out well.  And I promise to post it even if it’s a dismal failure. 

I’d like to have a couple more weeks off.  I’d like to know how I’d feel and what I’d really want to do if/when I got the lazing around out of my system.  Perhaps at some point I can figure out how I can just work part time.  For now, though, I’m headed upstairs for another cup of coffee and some breakfast with my honey.

Happy Saturday!

One thought on “Vacation Reflections

  1. I envy your energy, organization, and creativity. Your time spent vacationing sounds like full blown cyclonic activity, to me.

    On running: I ran for so many years that it will always be part of my being. Even after three hip surgeries, (unrelated to running) I sometimes break into a little jog on the treadmill before the pain reminds me of Dr’s orders.

    Breath, sweat and rhythm. So much that you already know, from your swimming and biking. A delicate dance, aerobic vs anaerobic, performed on land, instead of choppy waters in the Reservoir or (worse) SF Bay! I know you can do this!

    Once in a while, I take a little run, down a beautiful trail in Frick Park, in my mind.

    Regards!

Leave a Reply

