Pure Enjoyment

I just came in from my usual morning sit on the bench in the photo at the top of the blog.  This is fast becoming my favorite place in the yard, maybe on Earth.  The yard this year is more beautiful and welcoming than it has been in a long time.  I’m not sure what it is.  Maybe it’s because I’m out in it more to notice.  Having mornings free has been a blessing.  And, since I’m an odd sleeper anyway, I’ve adjusted my schedule so that I do two hours first thing, usually around 4:30 to 6:30, have garden/exercise/errand time, then work from noon to six so I have more time in the evening with G.  It’s working way better.  Plus, I get to break up the long periods of sitting.  That’s good, too.

But back to the garden.  Oh my goodness.  I wish anyone who reads this blog could come and visit, sit on the back porch and the front porch with us.  The flowers are so incredibly lovely this year, and each blooming season is just melding and merging into the next so that the yard is continually covered in waves of different colors.  Everything started early this year and I hardly know where to begin.  Let’s start with the morning view.  This is what I see when I walk outside in the morning:

That’s all the grass we have, and it’s quite enough.  April was all about alliums, horehound, flax and watching the front yard come into its own:

So far, May has been about delphiniums, iris, early veggies, beautiful beds and the most amazing mullein ever.

 

Oh, and peonies!!

This doesn’t even cover the tomatoes that are already in flower (in May!), the beets popping up, the peas I’m going to pick in a few minutes, the huge crop of radishes we have (anyone need a few bunches?), the elderberry bush, the strawberries, blackberries, baby grapes, apples, peaches, cherries and plums.  Yes, we have all that coming on, from one small plot of earth.  Blessed?  You bet.

I have a lot of other things on my mind, mundane stuff that I’ve been wanting to talk or rant about, but that can wait.  For now, I’ll leave you to the mini tour.  Me?  I’m going back to the garden.  Later ‘taters!

Leave a Reply

