Blessings (I wish I had a bigger font to go here)

We are going on the third day of cool and cloudy.  We had rain, slow and gentle, for most of the night last night.  I slept ALL NIGHT.  Worked two hours pre dawn, then got G up for a 4-mile walk, done before 9.  We headed out to breakfast, and actually got caught in a DELUGE.  The restaurant was packed because the County Fair is in town and by the time we ran back to the car we were too soaked to go out in public.  Had to come home and regroup.  But I didn’t mind it because it was RAINING.  And it was COOL.   Sigh of utter bliss here.

We’ve started doing the Farmers’ Market thing.  We checked out one in Canon City the other week and hit Pueblo’s on Friday.  There’s a Colorado bakery (not real local but in the state), that brings all these amazing breads.  My utter, absolute, to-die-for favorite is the lemon-mint-white chocolate.  None of those flavors are overwhelming (as they could be, though there is a distinctive lemon aroma), and they all work beautifully together.  Add a very light dusting of powdered sugar and you have a work of art in your mouth.  One day I will attempt to imitate this, but for now, I’ll just happily buy a loaf a week:

 

We also bought some wonderful chevre made in Canon City, just 25 miles away.  They have other forms of goat cheese, but chevre is just something I love and their prices are reasonable enough that now I can have that, too.

And, to top it off, the Palisade peaches were coming in.  Now, I grew up in Georgia (the peach state) and I lived next door to South Carolina, which actually grows more peaches than Georgia, but babies, you have not HAD a peach until you have experienced a Palisade peach from the Western slope of the Colorado Rockies.  I kid you not.  They are the best peaches IN the world.  We normally by an entire box, but this week, they were putting out some of the smaller, irregular ones, so we only got a bag.

Sunday morning, I got up with a hankering.  I cut a couple of slices of that enticing, aromatic bread and buttered them:

 

Then, I slide that cookie sheet into the oven.  I don’t own a toaster.  The best (only) kind of toast is done under the broiler.  It might take a bit more energy, release a little heat, but so worth it.

Can you smell it?  That light, lemony scent, the tiny hint of mint?  See the white chocolate melting in there.  Yeah.  While all that was going on, I cut up two of the wonderful Palisade peaches, and added a handful of the blackberries we’re beginning to reap from the back yard:

I added maybe a teaspoon of sugar and a TINY bit of cinnamon, just to give a little zip.  By then the toast was ready:

You see where I’m going with this, right?  This alone would suffice on an ordinary day.  But I needed an extraordinary breakfast to celebrate the break in all the miserable heat.  On went the chevre, then topped with the wonderful, sweet, succulent summer fruit.  I would not have hesitated to serve this plate to Her Majesty herself.

And the absolute best part:  Everything on the plate came from within the borders of Colorado, most from within 50 miles, and some from my own backyard.  Sweet, simple, beautiful, delicious.  Doesn’t get much better.

Wherever you are, I urge you to hit your Farmers’ Markets.  Who knows what gems you’ll find?

3 thoughts on “Blessings (I wish I had a bigger font to go here)

  1. Holy Moly, that looks good! You are making my mouth water!

    I love the Farmer’s Markets. I go a couple of times a week. Made some fantastic apricot jam last week ~ so, so good!

  2. I didn’t know that food could actually make you laugh out loud with delight until I visited a farmers market and bought fruit that had been picked that morning, from nearby. I sat alone in my kitchen and made a fruit salad and actually went a little nuts with the sudden rush of sensation. And I suddenly knew: I never really knew what some fruits really taste like before this!
    It was easily one of the most exhilarating afternoons of my life – and it was just me sitting alone in a kitchen eating a bowl of chopped up fruit. A few years ago I would have considered this very pathetic. But a few years ago I had no idea what food can be!

Leave a Reply

