Retreat. Reflect.

My Australian friend, Margaret Rainbow-Web, yes, that is her real name, has a quote on her side by a man named Robert Theobald.  I admit to not knowing much about the man (but wanting to know more), but the quote has stuck with me for years:

“When information doubles, knowledge halves and wisdom quarters.”

Recently, I placed myself in a world of information overload.  I found myself distracted nearly every moment at work (a place I really don’t need distraction from).  I was Tweeting, Pinning, FaceBooking, e-mailing, texting.  I had become, in a small sense, one of those people you see in commercials who can’t be away from their electronic gadgets for more than a few moments without having an anxiety attack.  I realized I neither am nor want to be that person.  At least, I maintained enough wisdom to know that.

I deleted my Pintrest account first.  No worries, since I never really got that whole concept anyway.  Today, I decided to deactivate my Twitter account.  For a long time, I hardly tweeted at all, then I started getting some respones to my Tweets and I thought, “Oh, isn’t this fun, so and so thought enough of my words to respond or share.”  (so and so being a couple of folks in “the media”).  Then I realized I was checking Twitter on my silly little dumb phone and making sure I had the phone with me all the time, and checking it first thing in the morning, “just in case.”  Oh, man.  What a wake up call.

I’ve been using all this as an excuse.  An excuse to distract myself from my job, which depends on me being focused and in the moment at all times.  Yes, I can take breaks, no problem.  But when my paycheck really starts to suffer because I can’t stop commenting on Facebook, that is not cool.   At all. 

I haven’t decided whether or not I want to get completely drastic and close my FB account.  I probably won’t because what has been really nice is getting back in touch with classmates and other college/past friends and seeing what they’re up to.  And with the boys in Denver, it’s an easy way to see what’s up with them (though I think they’ve lost their phones, so hardly post at all).  I enjoy that and I enjoy the repartee on some subjects.  Others, not so much.  The whole chicken sandwich thing really got me down for a couple of days (and yes, I know it’s not about chicken sandwiches, but I’m not using the name for my own purposes).  I realized I am better off when I don’t put myself into those kinds of over-hyped controversies.  Sharing and re-tweeting, and commenting and having to moderate comments–all that stuff.  Not good for me.

So.  I’ve decided to take some time back.  Obviously, I’m keeping the blog because this really is my space.  I get to say 100% what goes in and what doesn’t.  I’ll still be writing, but I’m going to try to stay positive.  And I’m going to go back to my meditation cushion, that I’ve stepped away from for far too long.  If I’m going to start an exercise routine to help my body, might as well start a routine to help my spirit/soul, too, right?  Maybe in the morning, maybe before bed, maybe in the middle of the day.  Hell, some days maybe all of the above.  After all, my daughter just told me she’s pregnant again.

Didn’t see that coming, did ya?

8 thoughts on “Retreat. Reflect.

    • No, but it’s always in the back of my mind and in Pueblo, it’s “new man = new baby”. Apparently she drank the Kool-Aid. Oh well. The only reason she didn’t have a kid with her actual husband was that he had a vasectomy after 2 kids.

  1. Oh good grief! That’s about all I can say on that score.

    Now, about FB… I was well into it for a while, but then something just turned me off. I still have an account and I look at it about once a week and for me that’s enough. You might try that.

    Hang in there GG. Sending you strong thoughts of calm water.

    • Thanks, e. I already feel relief by letting go of those other two and working to break the habit of checking FB during work. So far, so good.

    • Maggie, I don’t think I can completely give up FB, even if I start reading more than posting. It’s just so much fun to see what everyone is up to–such as yourself!

Leave a Reply

