A New Month

Happy Spring

easterflower

Take a deep breath, you’ll be able to smell them.  If not, try Google Nose.

I know, I’ve been gone for ages.  Seems that way, at least, though when I looked at the date on the last post, it really wasn’t all that long.  It is true, however, I haven’t written anything really “meaty” for a while, so pardon the fluff.  We’ve been really busy.  We’ve had folks in the house over the last few weeks–not guests, except for GS1 last week which was fun, but he was quiet as a church mouse the whole week. I think he just wanted to OD on computer games and not have to fight with his brother.  We got an unexpected blessing, though, when we found out that his uncle and cousins had just moved in about 2 blocks from us, so the GS1 and his oldest cousin who are basically the same age, got to hang out, play some B-ball and even sleep out in the back yard one night.  And go skating.  So, all in all, it was a pretty good week for him.

But before that, we had electricians upgrading the upstairs wiring, and adding a few new things, and last week we also had a guy putting in the final upgraded windows.  We had started a few years ago, getting half of them done and we are FINALLY getting some of the heavy duty house projects done that G has been jonesing on for the better part of a decade.  Now, all the windows will match!  I think they will make a big difference in the winter, but we’ll have to wait a few more months for that.  We have one last window to be installed tomorrow or Wednesday (the guy ordered 2 of one size, and all 3 windows in the kitchen are different sizes), and then we’ll be DONE.  For a while.  Of course, G will get another wild hair at some point and off she’ll go again.  Probably that bathroom downstairs, except she says if she gives me a bathroom down here, she’ll likely never see me.  I don’t argue much about that. 😉

In other news, my daughter plans to be induced on Thursday. The baby is apparently already full term, and she’s not dilated.  She also has a large cyst on one of her ovaries and the doc is going in 2 weeks after the birth to remove it and tie her tubes.  Can you feel the thunderous silent cheers from this area??  I have absolutely no interest in this baby.  None. Zip. Zero. Nada.  I mean, that’s the reaction I generally have about babies.  I’m just not in the baby audience.  There, I said it.  I’m sure she’ll be a lovely baby.  My daughter makes beautiful babies. But, I just really don’t much care about the whole issue.  I wasn’t even particularly interested in my own baby most of the time.  I’m sure this makes me seem like some kind of bizarre freak of nature, especially if you’re joining us mid-episode, but I’ve wrangled this thing around in my head for long enough to just accept it. I don’t like kids–I mean, I don’t have the kid gene or whatever you want to call it.  I adore my grandsons, but a week or so of them, and I’m ready for another year to pass before I see them again.  So, moving on.

As you can see from the photo above, the garden is slowly re-emerging from its winter stasis.  We will probably plant peas and some potatoes this week, and other green stuff is in the ground.  It will be interesting to see how long we can go with a “limited” garden this year.  I’ll keep you posted.

It’s April, and that means National Poetry Month, too.  Last year, I wrote most of my April posts in verse. I’m not sure I’ll attempt that this year, but I AM going to try to do a post every day this month. I want to make sure you get good and tired of me.  I’m a little trepped out by that, but I  just now set the goal, so I haven’t had enough time to freak out that I don’t have 30 days of subjects all lined up in my head. I’ll just go with it.  I’m trying to do that in my life, so hopefully this blog will reflect that.

Other news? I haven’t cooked much, been watching way too much TV, was getting back to the gym till last week, but have a sparring appointment tomorrow, so I guess I better get off here and get out to the garage with the bike and the bag.  G is on her way back down from Denver, where she took GS1 back yesterday and stayed over for an early VA appt.  Skittles is great. We have nesting sparrows already and our crows were back in the birdbath yesterday, and it’s supposed to snow tomorrow.  Welcome to springtime in Colorado.

And finally, Happy Birthday, Meeps.

edinmeeps

One thought on “A New Month

Leave a Reply

