I Don’t Want A Gun

It was bound to happen. We reached our quota at work tonight, and they called us off, so I have a couple of hours until it’s midnight on the East Coast (10 pm here) and I can go back to work.  I’m definitely falling behind on my post-a-day goal, and I thought about doing another quick “look at what I’m cooking now” post which would be easy, but I it’s been a while since I tackled a controversial subject.  Except I’m not going to be controversial.  The title above might seem so. If you phrase it right, put emphasis in different places, perhaps you might think I’m being radically liberal, trying to tell gun owners what to do, things like that.  Not the case. The truth is, I really don’t want  a gun.  I don’t say that with fear or loathing or judgment that guns are evil and I wouldn’t have one in my house.  I don’t think that.  I don’t want a gun in the way that I don’t want high-heeled shoes, mirrored closet doors, or glass-topped tables.  I just don’t want one.  I have no interest in them.  They cost way too much money and after thinking about it from six ways to Sunday, I can’t think of any way a gun would make me feel safer in my own home than I do right now.

I suppose that stricter gun control laws are a good thing, I don’t know.  For the most part, the whole issue really doesn’t affect me.  I don’t want a gun, so I’m not going to buy a gun, so I won’t have to have a background check. I don’t want a gun, so I’m not going to have a gun, so I don’t need a carry permit or a gun cabinet (unless I turned it into a fabric storage cabinet).  The thing is, I’m about 100% sure that if anyone were to hurt me with a gun, it would be a person who set out to do so, i.e. a criminal.  Chances are they wouldn’t have gone through a background check or even bought the gun (probably stole it), so even the most carefully crafted law in the land would be useless.  People who are going to break one law aren’t going to pay attention to other laws.  I would prefer not to see or be around guns strapped on in every public place I go to, but I suppose it’s only a matter of time until that happens.  That, however, will never be one of my fashion accessories.  I would probably wear high heels before I would wear a gun.  What, you say, high heels aren’t a weapon? Single White Female, anyone?

I’m really not being flip about this. I’ve had a closer encounter with gun violence and gun irresponsibility than many people, so been there, done that.  I can’t control much in my life, but I can control what goes on in my house, and here there will never be guns.  To be fair, G and I talked about buying a gun if we really decided to get into back country hiking/camping.  I’d vote for a shotgun, like our Vice President, but G made good points about having a hand gun handy in that kind of a situation.  I would consider carrying a gun in that scenario, but then we’d have to figure out where to put it in the house, where to store the ammo, etc.  It hasn’t gotten to that yet, but I’m saying this just in case some 2nd Amendment kook Googles me and decides to rant.  To be clear, I’m not trying to “take away” anyone’s right to have a gun. Me not wanting one in no way affects anyone else’s desire/ability to acquire all the firearms they can.

In any event, not having a gun is what I’m comfortable with and so that’s my decision. For those who feel like the world is out to get them, then I suppose having a gun might make them feel safer and more comfortable. I don’t know.  I just wish people would do what made them comfortable and leave others’ behavior to them.  We don’t trust each other to behave. We say we pass laws to make us safe, but in reality, what we’re doing is saying, “You have to do (or not do) thus and so, in order for ME to be more comfortable.” That’s what laws are really about, for the most part.  If we started thinking more about what we wanted, as individuals, and started focusing on that, and not letting other people’s behavior get in our way, I think we would all be a lot more comfortable AND safer in the long run. With or without a gun.

Leave a Reply

