The Rest of the Story

Apparently, there was more to the meme from a couple of posts ago.  Far be it from me to leave such things unfinished:

61) Do you trust others easily?

I offer a superficial level of trust to everyone at first, but I often appear guarded until I get to know someone.  However, I have no expectations.  People do what they do; I only have control over my own actions.  As long as I’m satisfied with what I’ve done, I try not to be too invested otherwise.

62) What was your favorite toy as a child?

Every Christmas my mother gave me a big, flat box of 72 Crayola crayons. By the following year, they were all nubs.  I also loved the butterfly net my father gave me when I was about 7.  I caught every butterfly I could run after.  I only wanted to put them in a jar, look at them up close for a little while and let them go.  Never killed any of them.

63) How many numbers are in your mobile phone?

I don’t know.

64) Do you use sarcasm?

I’m sorry, I can’t stop laughing right now.

65) Do you know anyone famous?

I have a friend who is a writer/producer in Hollywood.  His name is not a household word, but he’s well recognized in the industry.  I met him when I cast him in a one-act Moliere play I directed in college.  We’ve been friends ever since.  I love him to bits and hope one day I’ll get to see him again.

66) Have you ever been in a mosh pit?

No and absolutely no desire to do so.  I’m not terribly fond of the kind of music that creates mosh pits.

67) What do you look for in a place to live?

Light, flow and a workable kitchen.

68) What are your nicknames?

I never really had any nicknames, although most of my college friends call me by my first name with the first syllable of my last name, “Mc” added on as one word.

69) How many hats do you own? What is your hat size?

I have quite a few hats, but only wear two or three regularly.  I love hats and can wear them well.  I don’t know what my hat size is, but I can tell you that virtually all women’s hats are too small, and the best hats come from the San Diego Hat Company.

70) Do you untie your shoes when you take them off?

I do if I want to get them off my feet.  Unless I’m wearing slip-ons.

71) Were you upset about Steve Irwin dying?

What a bizarre question.

72) What is your favorite ice cream flavor?

Mint, followed by lemon.

73)Are you lazy?

I prefer to think of it as efficient.  I don’t like “busy work”.  I often take a lot of time to plan things in my head, which seems like I’m not doing much, but then I can accomplish the actual task in a much shorter time.

74) What are your favorite songs at the moment?

Adele’s album, 21, has grabbed my heart on so many levels and will not let go.

75) What is your favorite band?

I’m not much of a “band” person.  Oldies: Creedence Clearwater Revival and The Traveling Wilburys.  Newer: Fastball and Uh Huh Her.

76) How many wisdom teeth do you have?

None.  One of my parents had all four and one of them had none (believe it or not I don’t remember which had which).  I got two, both upper, but they did not come in until I was well into adulthood (years apart) and I had to have them both pulled.

77) Do you want to go anywhere special this year?

Yes! San Francisco for my swim.

78) What are you listening to right now?

My computer fan and G moving around on the floor above my head.  It’s just past 4 a.m., I’ve been awake for 2 hours and she went to sleep in the living room because of a bad bout of reflux right when we got home from our trip. Oh, and the goddam bird that wakes me up every, SINGLE morning at 3:15 a.m.

79) Last thing you ate?

A carton of coconut yogurt.

80) Last person you talked to on the phone?

Friend M yesterday morning, calling to say they were running a bit late.

81) What is the first thing that you notice about yourself in the morning?

That I’m awake.

82) Favorite thought provoking song?

“Molasses To Rum To Slaves”  from the musical “1776”. Jon Cullum is amazing.

83) Favorite two things to hate?

Bad drivers and politicians.

84) Favorite Drink?

Coffee (after water).  For alcohol, tequila or bourbon.

85) Favorite Zodiac sign?

I’m a Taurus but I love Aries women.

86) Sports you like to watch?

I prefer individual sports–swimming, gymnastics, skating, etc.

87) What is your hair color?

Used to be black, now it’s black and silver.  I love my silver.

88) Eye color?

Blue/grey.

89) Do you wear glasses?

Got glasses in the 2nd grade after continually telling  my mother I could not see the board.  Even at that age, I was taller than everyone so was always in the back of the room.  When I got them, my mother queried the eye doctor about a glasses case, etc. for “keeping them safe”. He looked at her and said, “Ma’am, once she puts these glasses on, she won’t be taking them off till she goes to bed at night.”  I distinctly remember sliding them on my face and gasping, “Mommy! I can SEE!”  She felt awful then about not listening to me sooner.  Cannot abide the thought of contacts.  Have considered the eye surgery, but everyone I know who got it now needs reading glasses and I don’t need them for that, so no surgery, either.

90) Siblings?

Two brothers, one sister, all younger.

91) Favorite month?

October. I love fall, I love the light, I love the energy of it.

92) Do you like sushi?

LOVE sushi, especially eel and octopus.

93) Last thing you watched on television?

The opening few minutes of “Hawai’i Five-O” on Monday.  I’ve never seen the show, so thought I’d check it out.  I decided to go read instead.

94) Favorite day of the year?

The ones where I get up in the morning.

95) Are you too shy to ask someone out?

Not anymore.

96) Summer or Winter?

My preference, in order, is: Fall, Winter, Spring, Summer. If I could skip summer all together, I would be thrilled.

97) Kisses or hugs?

Long, slow, deep, soft, wet kisses that last three days.  Oh, my!  Hugs are good, too.

98) Relationships or One night stands?

I have memories of one (or two) night stands that still bring smiles to my face in odd moments.  But I wouldn’t trade any of them, or the possibility of future ones, for what I have now with G.  That said, if anything were to happen in that area, I would ONLY have one-night stands in the future.

99) Who is your favorite celebrity?

Helen Mirren.

100) Books you’d like to see turned into a film?

There’s a series of five children’s books by Lloyd Alexander that I would love to see made into the kind of film that Peter Jackson made from “The Lord of The Rings”.  Based on Welsh legend.

Now it’s nearly 5 a.m.  I have an appointment to get my hair cut at 9 and the doctor later in the afternoon.  Maybe I’ll try to get a few winks in. The damn bird is still going at it, though, so probably not.

Thank you and good night.  Or good morning, depending on your location.

One thought on “The Rest of the Story

Leave a comment